We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost my home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest on Hobson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Hobson
Ranked #22 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Almost my home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Quest offers furnished apartments with everything you could need.
Besides, the location is the best if you like the city, only a few steps for everywhere, the sky tower, the theatre, the harbour, the transport centre, etc
I liked the location and the completely stuff, the clothes dryer also.
The internet is free, but it's annoying, coz every 30 minutes you have to restart the connection.
The staff is very kind and efficient and good willing.

Room Tip: If you like the big room, with two separated spaces (living and sleeping, each one with the TV) you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Jan,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

Thank you once again for your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    76
    37
    18
    11
See reviews for
28
57
27
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed at Quest on Hobson for about 3O days during December andJanuary,spacious rooms
washing, cooking,evrything was possible. Take away next door . Lot of restaurants. Very helpful
staff.Very quite. It was likle home and more very close by Queen Street and Cruise Terminal I had to go.
Saw beginning of New Year fireworks from the Sky Tower on the doorstep 300 meters away,awesome.

Thank you very much staff ,especially mr Singh.
Best wishes ,Jan Berlijn,Rotterdam,The Netherlands (ROOM 305)

Room Tip: Take a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbirds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Jan,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

Thank you once again from your kind words and have a great week, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Lovely friendly staff at check in. Spacious modern room with huge shower and bathroom. Kitchen includes microwave, kettle, toaster, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, fridge freezer and 2 hob rings (excellent if you are on a budget and want to cook your own meals)!
Room cleaned every day (except sunday) and all shampoos, dishwasher tablets, towels etc changed without having to ask, excellent! Bed very comfortable and nice big tv on wall with lots of channels for a lazy day! Great security doors which are manned until 9pm then key card to activate front door and lifts so you feel safe.
Located near the sky city for views and resteraunts. 5 minute walk to queen street shopping (with a countdown for food shopping) and a 10 minute walk to the ferry ports for lots of great trips! A few people have mentioned there being a mission opposite but there is no trouble from it!
This was the last hotel we stayed in after a 4 month travel and it was the best way to round off a trip, we went home very relaxed, thank you to all!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexDWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Alex,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We recently stayed at Quest on Hobson on our last night in Auckland and frankly were throughly disappointed. We had a one bedroom apartment. Everything was dirty from a previously guests cookup the night before, there was saucy hand marks on the dinning chairs, dishes were packed away dirty, other peoples hair on the floor and in the bed, the couches had white marks all over them and it stank of oil and grease! When we arrived at 1.30 they were still cleaning the apartments and this was the only one which we could have. Not only did this hotel fall short in providing a $206 a night facility, the external appearance it gives was also yet to be desired. The lifts were dirty from carrying the rubbish from the apartments to the basement and there was rubbish left in the hallways till 6pm. In terms on value for money location wise was great, but I will not be staying here again, as it was a pure rip off.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you fro taking time out to submit your feedback.

We welcome all feedbacks positive or negative, this assists us in improving our services. In this instance, I apologise that our services did not live up to your standard.

Our check-in time is 2pm, unfortunately as you were staying on a very busy period, your room did not get ready till check-in time, we obliged by getting your room cleaned again when you complained it was not cleaned properly.

I realise our standards were compromised in this instance and hence, we improvised by providing you a refund on the car-park and internet charges, so effectively you only paid only a fraction of the cost for the room you stayed in.

We hope that you will take this as a one off event. Again please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Sincerely
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights - 2 adults and 1 teenager. We wanted two bedrooms so were given a 1 bedroom apartment and a studio apartment which were linked by a small entry foyer. The 1 bedroom apartment had a huge bedroom and spacious living/dining/kitchen area with a full size fridge - a bonus as so many places provide bar fridges only. Split system airconditioning in the living area so the bedroom stayed pretty warm as the sun came right in the bedroom windows, we ran the airconditioner the whole time to keep it comfortable - day time temps were only about 23 degrees.
The adjacent studio apartment was huge and, being a studio, the airconditioner cooled the whole room. Only a bar fridge in here.
Both bathrooms had a washer/dryer and both kitchens a dishwasher.
The staff at reception were really helpful and went out of their way to offer suggestions for dining in the area and also helped by husband with getting a sim card for internet data - there was a computer available for use in reception but wi fi cost extra and wasn't cheap.
A 10-15 minute downhill walk to the Viaduct area and a steep walk home - a number of restaurants in the vicinity as well. Our room also had a great view of the SkyTower and the mad people jumping off it!

Room Tip: Traffic noise was pretty bad on the Wellesley Street side, alot better overlooking Hobson Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This accomodation is value for money and very handy to the Sky Tower. Although not very picturesque from the street, this accomodation is a great base for those staying in Auckland for a while. It has a convenience store on both sides which is great for grabbing a quick feed or anything you need.
The only down side is the noise. Apartments are close and vehicle plus rubbish collection noise is frustrating.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest possible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog4NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service and location.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Quest Apartments are well placed in the heart of Auckland city center and just a few minutes walk to the marina and the busy nightlife. The apartments are clean and have all you need for a self catering stay. The staff are very helpful and friendly and will advise on anything you need to know about the city or the amenities. All in all a enjoyable place to stay which is professionally run.
Rob & Jess
Spain

Room Tip: You need to book early to avoid high prices because the room rates fluctuate a great deal when the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Rob & Jess,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#37 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barclay Suites Auckland
Barclay Suites Auckland
#7 of 108 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Suites Auckland - Federal Street
0.3 mi away
Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Hobson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Hobson

Property: Quest on Hobson
Address: 127 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Hobson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest on Hobson Serviced Apartments Strategically located on the western side of the CBD, Quest on Hobson is opposite the famous St Matthews Church and adjacent Sky Tower, besides being only 1-minutes walk away from a multitude of businesses, fabulous shopping, restaurants, bars and theatres on Queen Street.Quest New Zealand and Fiji CEO Stephen Mansfield says that the new property will be a great choice for business and leisure travellers alike."Accommodation in the CBD is in hot demand and Quest on Hobson will provide further access to New Zealand's largest business, leisure and entertainment centre."The 44 room complex will host a range of studio, one bedroom, and interconnecting two bedroom apartments, each equipped with all the modern furnishings and independent facilities that Quest has become known for.Quest on Hobson reception hours are 7am to 9pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 6pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our afterhours lock box and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Hobson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Hobson Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing