We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quest on Hobson
Nearby Hotels
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$111
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$242
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$114
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$124
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$102
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$198
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
$216
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$177
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$132
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
84
95
47
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
95
47
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky towerwashing machinestudio apartmenthobson streetconvenience storeheat pumpopening windowsfully equipped kitchenfree wifiauckland citya great place to staywould stay againqueen streetper nightlaundry facilitieslocation is greatshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 260 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Quest Apartments are well placed in the heart of Auckland city center and just a few minutes walk to the marina and the busy nightlife. The apartments are clean and have all you need for a self catering stay. The staff are very helpful and friendly and will advise on anything you need to know about the city or the amenities. All in all a enjoyable place to stay which is professionally run.
Rob & Jess
Spain

Room Tip: You need to book early to avoid high prices because the room rates fluctuate a great deal when the other hotels in the area have high occupancy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Rob & Jess,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My friend had just arrived from America and this was her first introduction to a NZ 'hotel' I was embarrassed by the unfriendly welcome we received when we checked in. The man was rude and unhelpful with us when we asked questions. We we not given instructions on how to operate the lighting system in the room or how to access the wifi so we had to call down and ask (this information should be given at check-in) Also, when we checked out there was no-one on the desk and a delivery man asked us to open the doors for him to let him deliver a package as he had been waiting for 10 minutes! We ended up having to give our 'keys' to a cleaner as no-one showed up.
The rooms were clean and value for money but I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We apologise that you felt unwelcomed at our property. We take pride in our customer service and rest assured will be investigating the matter, with appropriate warning to the responsible person.

Regarding the next morning due to public holiday our reception opens late and from what I have been informed the receptionist was assisting another guest with their luggage, which made him 5-minutes late to open the reception properly.

I am sure you are reasonable person to understand that this is a valid reason why they could not attend to you, however, I apologise for any inconvenience this caused you.

Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

From the warm and helpful welcome by Harsh on our arrival, then Jaspal who was at the Front desk during out stay, to the well appointed apartment, we found Quest n Hobson a great place to stay tho public holidays meant poor servicing of the apartment and having to request help from the front desk. Free internet, and in-apartment washing machine and dishwasher were a plus. Shower recess needs rail or shower-mat for the elderly. The main issues were east facing non-opening windows meant the room was hot during the day and the air conditioning didnt really compensate. Also during the night (early risers/leavers?) we heard what we thought was the noise of LONG showers from higher apartment(s). But all in all - we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Tho the view on the front-facing east side was great, the sun was too hot given large, non-opening windows! Not sure what the other rooms were like!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBombers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our facility, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Regarding the minor issue of the non-opening windows, as we are a CBD hotel, to maintain peaceful stay for our guests and non-smoking environment the windows have been double glazed and sealed to keep the facility noise and pollution free.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay otherwise and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Well located to the city centre and very quiet even though we were on a busy road.The people on the reception were fantastic - always willing to answer any query and giving advice on things to do in the city and the location of venues. They were also quick to change our room when we were unhappy. However the rest of the service left a lot to be desired.
For a four day stay there was no room service. Granted on one of those days we changed rooms but for the rest apparently on public holidays you get nothing. And they didn't provide enough supplies to get you through - no extra toilet rolls, washing liquid, laundry liquid or towels - you have to request these. One of the chairs in the room was broken and there was only one mirror in the bathroom. As a minimum they need an extra full length mirror. We had to try and get rid of our rubbish ourselves - given there was no room service. We were directed to somewhere "in the basement". All we could find was a huge pile of smelly rubbish...and a locked bin. Great.
In summary it was more like a nicer hostel than the Quests I am used to. If they improve the facilities then the venue would probably be worthy of the money spent - when compared to the other hotels we stayed in during our NZ visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you were happy with our customer service, however we apologise for the lack of cleaning service you had to experience due to public holidays.

To rectify this we had several notices in place inside the elevators and on reception to clearly notify all guests of limited servicing of the rooms over public holiday and that if a guest does require service or amenities they may contact the reception for this.

I note that you contacted the reception staff and they obliged by providing you all necessary amenities twice.

I understand that from customer prospective there should be no excuses, however, if servicing of the apartment is the only thing that has bothered you, I am happy to refund you the cost of servicing your apartment.

We take pride in our customer service therefore we hope that you will see this as a one off event and give us another opportunity to provide you accommodation facility on your next visit to Auckland.

Sincerely
Harsh Khanna
Diurector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We arrived off a cruise and organized to stay at the Quest on Hobson before flying home. It was a great place to stay, clean and the bed comfortable. I appreciated having a washing machine and drier available, as it meant that I got our holiday washing done, before hitting home and going to work. Staff, from the cleaning staff up to reception were welcoming and friendly, and went out of their way to be helpful. A great place for a good price.

Room Tip: We had a back serviced room on the second floor which was quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueWillsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Sue,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews