We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly Welcome”
Review of Quest on Hobson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Hobson
Ranked #20 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unfriendly Welcome”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My friend had just arrived from America and this was her first introduction to a NZ 'hotel' I was embarrassed by the unfriendly welcome we received when we checked in. The man was rude and unhelpful with us when we asked questions. We we not given instructions on how to operate the lighting system in the room or how to access the wifi so we had to call down and ask (this information should be given at check-in) Also, when we checked out there was no-one on the desk and a delivery man asked us to open the doors for him to let him deliver a package as he had been waiting for 10 minutes! We ended up having to give our 'keys' to a cleaner as no-one showed up.
The rooms were clean and value for money but I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinky1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologise that you felt unwelcomed at our property. We take pride in our customer service and rest assured will be investigating the matter, with appropriate warning to the responsible person.

Regarding the next morning due to public holiday our reception opens late and from what I have been informed the receptionist was assisting another guest with their luggage, which made him 5-minutes late to open the reception properly.

I am sure you are reasonable person to understand that this is a valid reason why they could not attend to you, however, I apologise for any inconvenience this caused you.

Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    81
    39
    19
    11
See reviews for
29
61
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

From the warm and helpful welcome by Harsh on our arrival, then Jaspal who was at the Front desk during out stay, to the well appointed apartment, we found Quest n Hobson a great place to stay tho public holidays meant poor servicing of the apartment and having to request help from the front desk. Free internet, and in-apartment washing machine and dishwasher were a plus. Shower recess needs rail or shower-mat for the elderly. The main issues were east facing non-opening windows meant the room was hot during the day and the air conditioning didnt really compensate. Also during the night (early risers/leavers?) we heard what we thought was the noise of LONG showers from higher apartment(s). But all in all - we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Tho the view on the front-facing east side was great, the sun was too hot given large, non-opening w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBombers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review our facility, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Regarding the minor issue of the non-opening windows, as we are a CBD hotel, to maintain peaceful stay for our guests and non-smoking environment the windows have been double glazed and sealed to keep the facility noise and pollution free.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay otherwise and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Well located to the city centre and very quiet even though we were on a busy road.The people on the reception were fantastic - always willing to answer any query and giving advice on things to do in the city and the location of venues. They were also quick to change our room when we were unhappy. However the rest of the service left a lot to be desired.
For a four day stay there was no room service. Granted on one of those days we changed rooms but for the rest apparently on public holidays you get nothing. And they didn't provide enough supplies to get you through - no extra toilet rolls, washing liquid, laundry liquid or towels - you have to request these. One of the chairs in the room was broken and there was only one mirror in the bathroom. As a minimum they need an extra full length mirror. We had to try and get rid of our rubbish ourselves - given there was no room service. We were directed to somewhere "in the basement". All we could find was a huge pile of smelly rubbish...and a locked bin. Great.
In summary it was more like a nicer hostel than the Quests I am used to. If they improve the facilities then the venue would probably be worthy of the money spent - when compared to the other hotels we stayed in during our NZ visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you were happy with our customer service, however we apologise for the lack of cleaning service you had to experience due to public holidays.

To rectify this we had several notices in place inside the elevators and on reception to clearly notify all guests of limited servicing of the rooms over public holiday and that if a guest does require service or amenities they may contact the reception for this.

I note that you contacted the reception staff and they obliged by providing you all necessary amenities twice.

I understand that from customer prospective there should be no excuses, however, if servicing of the apartment is the only thing that has bothered you, I am happy to refund you the cost of servicing your apartment.

We take pride in our customer service therefore we hope that you will see this as a one off event and give us another opportunity to provide you accommodation facility on your next visit to Auckland.

Sincerely
Harsh Khanna
Diurector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We arrived off a cruise and organized to stay at the Quest on Hobson before flying home. It was a great place to stay, clean and the bed comfortable. I appreciated having a washing machine and drier available, as it meant that I got our holiday washing done, before hitting home and going to work. Staff, from the cleaning staff up to reception were welcoming and friendly, and went out of their way to be helpful. A great place for a good price.

Room Tip: We had a back serviced room on the second floor which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueWillsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Quest on Hobson for about 9 days this month.
Overall it was a pleasant place to stay. Close to the city centre which makes exploring easy.
The room was clean and comfortable.
The neighbors in the building next door had big party one night which kept me awake, but I am not sure what quest could do about that, if anything.
Also be prepared to be in air conditioning the whole time. There are no opening windows, but in a city full of so many cars and smokers the air isn't that fresh anyhow.
The desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would stay again for a short trip, but I would get out of the city for anything longer than a few days.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank shelly-jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, General Manager at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Shelly-Jean,

Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were very pleased by our customer service.

All your comments have been taken on board and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

room was ok with many amenities available but windows definitely need to be cleaned ! hard to get rid of the smell when cooking (bad ventilation?). bed should be more comfortable. Internet WiFi should be free. but great location : half way between the waterfront and upper queen st, just mn from Sky City and amazing staff : very kind and helpful. stayed there 4 nights.

Room Tip: parking for small cars only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranitea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, General Manager at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Ranitea,

Thank you for your feedback, regarding windows, we generally get the external windows cleaned every 6-months, however, due to some bad weather they started reflecting dirt on them. I apologise that you had to experience this, however bad weather is something we cant control.

For Wi-Fi, we offer this free if you have booked with us on a corporate rate, however on a special discounted rate, we only offer free internet facility in the lobby.

Aside from this, we are pleased to hear that you relatively enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raglan
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed two nights here and thought considering the price $120 per night that the location and room size was very good value for money. The room was on Hobson street so some road noise but nothing unusual for a inner city hotel.
Our room was clean the shower worked well and for an extra $20 we parked the car under the building.
being right by sky city you had great access to restaurants at federal street and taxis etc.

Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms on Hobson Street are slightly more noisy than ones on the eastern or western sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raglantripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Hope you are well and thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 67 in Auckland
1,130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#44 of 67 in Auckland
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barclay Suites Auckland
Barclay Suites Auckland
#7 of 123 in Auckland
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Suites Auckland - Federal Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Hobson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Hobson

Property: Quest on Hobson
Address: 127 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Hobson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest on Hobson Serviced Apartments Strategically located on the western side of the CBD, Quest on Hobson is opposite the famous St Matthews Church and adjacent Sky Tower, besides being only 1-minutes walk away from a multitude of businesses, fabulous shopping, restaurants, bars and theatres on Queen Street.Quest New Zealand and Fiji CEO Stephen Mansfield says that the new property will be a great choice for business and leisure travellers alike."Accommodation in the CBD is in hot demand and Quest on Hobson will provide further access to New Zealand's largest business, leisure and entertainment centre."The 44 room complex will host a range of studio, one bedroom, and interconnecting two bedroom apartments, each equipped with all the modern furnishings and independent facilities that Quest has become known for.Quest on Hobson reception hours are 7am to 9pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 6pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our afterhours lock box and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Hobson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Hobson Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing