We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Beautiful, exceptionally clean, quiet and very comfortable in every aspect. David and Averill Archer are two of the best people anyone could meet. They really make the final touches to a perfect stay. Great breakfast, excellent ambience music, ......... Did I mention the word "perfect" ?.... All positive points... Not a single negative point..... Wished we could have stayed longer. You won't regret it ! !
Lana and John, Tennessee, USA

Room Tip: All rooms are large and decorated beautifully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 38 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

David and Averrill were friendly and helpful hosts for our stay in Auckland. The location is convenient, the accommodation lovely and relaxing and the breakfasts were made to order delicious! The welcome glass of bubbly was a delicious touch too! Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandVikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Pure luxury at a very good price and something we could only dream of in the UK. The price for the same would be double or triple!
The welcome from David & Averill, just delightful and like visiting very good friends.
The home, I can't even begin to call The Consulate a B&B. It is so much more. Pure luxury.

Averill & David share their beautiful home with you.
On arrival, Champagne & cheeseboard and the warmest welcome. Beautiful.
The living room, perfect and relaxing, the dining room comfortable, the bedroom, gigantic and the bed, Awesome!

Breakfast was a great selection of fresh fruit, cereals, toast and a freshly cookef breakfast of our choice.

We loved our stay and only wish it wasn't on the other side of the world. We'll be back.
Easy reach to airport, the city and the beaches.

Thank you David & Averill for ensuring our last night in NZ was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thumper36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We arrived after a few weeks on the road in a camper van, which we did drive to the front door ! Ooops - we dropped our luggage off and with David's help and several manovers we took the campervan back to the depot. We arrived to be greeted with a very acceptable chessboard and a glass of bubbly, we were in heaven!
Our room was luxurious especially the extremely large and very comfortable bed! The breakfast was superb with many options and freshly cooked to order. Peaceful and restful location. Nothing was too much trouble. David and Averill are the perfect hosts, thank you for hospitality. Karen & Dean

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMacs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

In addition to the beautiful accommodation, what defines this property as unique is the "generosity of spirit" that the hosts offer. From a practical viewpoint, the standard of the rooms is extremely high, the breakfast food is fresh and there are a diverse range of choices. The location of the property enables quick access to the city (if necessary), and high calibre restaurants and cafes at the end of the road - not to mention the walk along the magnificent bay area. I would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to anyone travelling on either business or visiting Auckland, particularly those who are looking for something different (and better) than the usual 5 star hotel experience. Thanks so much Averill and David for making my stay special. Kris (Melbourne, Australia).

Room Tip: First floor room the better option (particularly for couples)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Perfect location for the function we were attending in Auckland. We found it extremely comfortable and peaceful. You shouldn't hesitate to book The Consulate. Thanks for your hospitality David and Averill.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

So peaceful and yet so close to Auckland City.Beautiful setting,luxurious accommodation,lovely breakfast and welcoming hosts that went out of their way to make my stay as perfect as possible.A great place to unwind after a busy day.Thank you David and Avril for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
5.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
5 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,446 reviews
6.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,252 reviews
5.9 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 62 in Auckland Central
533 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and B...
#2 of 62 in Auckland Central
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Address: 259B St Heliers Bay Road | St Heliers, Auckland Central, Auckland 1071, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: $199 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This multimillion dollar palatial home in one of Auckland's finest suburbs has been occupied in the past six years by the Consul General of America to New Zealand. An opportunity now exists to stay where Presidents and Prime Ministers have visited,and where American Ambassadors have slept. Stay and enjoy the luxury, and relax both inside and outside of this lavish home in uncompromising style. Play tennis, swim in the pool, enjoy the games room or just collapse in front of the fire and large screen TV. Discover Auckland, the largest city in New Zealand with almost one and a half million residents. Enjoy the near by famous beaches and restaurants of St Heliers and Mission Bay. Take a cruise to Waiheke Island. See Kelly Tarlton's underwater world. Take the Explorer bus to see Big 14 Attractions.Plus many more exciting adventures. Don't delay. See you soon at The Consulate Luxury B&B Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Consulate Luxury Bed And Breakfast Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing