We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget hotels....stay at The Consulate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 52 Auckland B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Forget hotels....stay at The Consulate”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our holiday started in Auckland and we chose to stay at a beautiful place called St Helliers. It is a beautiful suburb and not too far out of Auckland. On arrival to The Consulate we were warmly welcomed and shown to the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in. A king size bed that still gave you plenty of space, a very large bathroom with double shower. David and Averill are the perfect hosts and we enjoyed sitting down with a glass of champagne and cheese on arrival. This B & B has everything you could imagine and we were treated to 4 very special nights. The local restaurants are all exceptional and we would definitely go back. If you want to relax and read in the large sitting rooms, play tennis or swim in the pool you can do it all here. We were treated like very special guests and it was a real privilege to stay at The Consulate. Sincere thanks to David and Averill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebRed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
23
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I only stayed one night due to no hotel availability in Auckland centre. After staying at the Consulate I'm so happy I didn't end up with boring sterile hotel with corporate fake character.

The Consulate is absolutely lovely accommodation, very tastefully decorated and furnished with more of a home from home feel. David and Averill are a lovely couple who manage the place perfectly.

Well received warm greeting from Averill and David and was made to feel very welcome.

Large Bedroom very comfortable. Best sleep of my entire trip.
Large Living room with comfy furnishings and huge TV and refreshments.
Large Shower room.
Beautiful Dining room.
Breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimsum77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank-you so much for your wonderful review.
David & Averill Archer @ "The Consulate Luxury B& B Auckland"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a lovely house with great living spaces for guests and terrific beds and bathrooms. But what really sets it apart is the extraordinary hospitality of the hosts. When we found we had to stay on an extra night, being a night on which this B&B (along with the rest of Auckland) was booked out, these wonderful people moved out of their own room so that we could stay on. How special is that? They let us take over the dining room so that we could work through the night, and taxied us to the local restaurants so we would get some dinner before the kitchens closed. We had a great time with them and their other guests. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosieBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Quiet retreat with every luxury away from the busy city streets. David and Averill are fantastic hosts who provide a warm welcome with a super breakfast in beautiful surroundings. The suite of rooms is superb and so comfortable with spacious bedroom, luxury bathroom with walk in shower, separate toilet,huge lounge, basement room with table tennis which leads to a tiered outside area which includes a small private pool, sun terrace and tennis court. The added extras of home made biscuits, sherry, fruit, tea, coffee sweeties, champagne and a great cheeseboard add to the feeling that you are with friends who are leaving you wanting for nothing. We are just a short taxi ride from the centre of town and the harbour area and only a short walk downhill to the lovely beach area of StHelier with its restaurants and bars.. Averill and David have given us a fantastic welcome to New Zealand and we are looking forward to being with them again at the end of our trip. The luxury B&B far exceeds my expectations and provides far more than Hotel ever could.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OzBrit SE Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Regretfully, only a one night stay in this gracious, tranquil and spotless house. Averill and David have clearly aimed for excellence in both the environment that they have created for guests and in the service that they offer - and they have certainly succeeded in achieving it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A place of unsurpassed tranquillity amidst the chaos of Auckland. Peaceful and Luxurious. From the personal welcome, complete with Bubbles and nibbles, to the fond farewell you will not find more Amazing Hosts - David and Averill. A restful pleasant escape from reality.

A scrumptious breakfast cooked and served by a man not afraid to show off his pinny ;) and/or fresh and fabulous continental style prepared by the Lady of the Manor.
Excellent restaurants nearby, thanks for the great advice on dinner arrangements.
Will definitely return when next able to escape.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanandSueNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Sean and Sue.
Thank -you for your review which we very much appreciate.
It was also a wonderful time for us to have your company and have you stay.
Averill and I do hope we will see you again.
Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taurang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Fantastic experience. Sheer luxury and wonderful hosts in David and Averill. Excellent location near to the delightful St Heliers and Mission Bays, and so convenient for the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
5.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,053 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
4.7 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
1,148 reviews
4.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
5.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: 259B St Heliers Bay Road | St Heliers, Auckland 1071, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This multimillion dollar palatial home in one of Auckland's finest suburbs has been occupied in the past six years by the Consul General of America to New Zealand. An opportunity now exists to stay where Presidents and Prime Ministers have visited,and where American Ambassadors have slept. Stay and enjoy the luxury, and relax both inside and outside of this lavish home in uncompromising style. Play tennis, swim in the pool, enjoy the games room or just collapse in front of the fire and large screen TV. Discover Auckland, the largest city in New Zealand with almost one and a half million residents. Enjoy the near by famous beaches and restaurants of St Heliers and Mission Bay. Take a cruise to Waiheke Island. See Kelly Tarlton's underwater world. Take the Explorer bus to see Big 14 Attractions.Plus many more exciting adventures. Don't delay. See you soon at The Consulate Luxury B&B Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Consulate Luxury Bed And Breakfast Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing