We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INDECENT!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Fern Backpackers
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my partner and it was definitely a terrible experience. We had a double room with private bathroom: shower very dirty with hairs and small worms (had not been cleaned before our arrival); stained sheets (yellow patches) and smelly with cockroach discovered the first night. The hot water was not working and have not done even after our requests.
There's a big stink of mold (maybe the carpet) and the staff is practically absent: there was never anyone at reception and often the young ladies entertain themselves in common with backpackers ignoring those who waited at the entrance.
Internet is bad and it is often impossible to connect.
Shared kitchen dirty and smelly.
There are hostels in Auckland much better!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alemar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

While hostel bathrooms are clean they are a long trip from your bedroom, only 3 showers for ladies, supposed to have free tea and coffee, coffee very poor quality when they do have it, wifi free for 30 mins but very poor quality, $4 each for washing machine and dryer, some of the rooms very untidy, very poor receptionists rarely there and then don't have a lot of information, I wouldn't be rushing back

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank NualaOSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This might have just been the one night we stayed, but we didnt have a great time: Barely any parking on site. $50 key deposit, expensive internet. Not very friendly receptionist and workers (barely made eye contact with you when speaking). Chairs in kitchen are odd and very low/very high seats. Our 8-bed dorm smelled horrible, and the basement bathroom floors were always wet. Never really felt clean there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This backpacker is in a very good position, close to the Skytower and the centre of Auckland. The price is quite good and the breakfast is included. Unfortunately I didn't find a good "hostel atmosphere". The wifi didn't work for all the time we spent there. Moreover, there were holes in the blankets and the rooms weren't very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viaher-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and had great staff service. It is not the cheaper backpacker, but I prefer paying a bit more and be sure to not get bitten or anything. You got a free 200mb internet/day. Could be better, could be worst

Bad part; if you want something, be sure they will charge you. 50c a print, 8$ a parking if available (they got about 6)... etc.
Good part: we forgot a USB key and they ring us to give it back! Nice touch you don't see often!

Room Tip: Find a friend and pay a bit more for some privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joviea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for just 2 nights before I flew out of Auckland. Chose it mainly because of the price. Location was ok also. No complaints. Was in a 10 bed dorm but it was only about half full. Spacious room so it would have been no big deal if it was full. Staff was nice. I had arrived by 8am and couldn't check in until 12 but was told to help myself to the free breakfast (toast and cornflakes) and I could just hang out in the common area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is all business, and has no social atmosphere. They don't tell you there is a cheaper 12 bed dorm, charge for bag storage, and give you 100mb of internet only to have it stop working 15 minutes later. I probably used 10mb.

You can get a lot more for the same price elsewhere. Give this a pass.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
734 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#29 of 134 in Auckland Central
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
BK Hostel
BK Hostel
#47 of 134 in Auckland Central
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
K Road City Travelers Hostel
K Road City Travelers Hostel
#61 of 134 in Auckland Central
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#55 of 134 in Auckland Central
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nomads Auckland Hostel
Nomads Auckland Hostel
#68 of 134 in Auckland Central
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Backpackers

Address: 234 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $20 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Fern Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Silver Fern Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing