We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Ranked #6 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent a week in late February at Ponsonby Manor and we instantly felt very welcome. The day we arrived there was a parade on Ponsonby Road and we watched it from the balcony having some drinks and appetizers, got to know the other guests and just had a fabulous night.

Our room (the chapel room) was small but very cosy and had everything you need.
The common areas are also beautifully furnished and perfectly clean and there is a well-equipped kitchen and great backyard. We loved having our meals or a drink outside.

We definitely recommend staying at Ponsonby Manor, especially when you stay in Auckland for a week or longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill B, General Manager at Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
the front verandah here at Ponsonby Manor certainly made a great viewing platform for the parade and it was fun to be able to share a Ponsonby 'event' with our guests.

We will do it again next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
56
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

When we wanted to move to New Zealand for the first time (and hopefully permanently) we were very concerned about our first accommodation in a country we have never been. So I started to search and found Red Monkey Travelers Lodge a good place to stay. So I booked for a month for me and my wife. A week later I received an email from manager which said the room is not available due to maintenance and they have upgraded us to Ponsonby Manor with the same price.
So we were lucky enough to have Ponsonby Manor as our first home in NZ for a month. And I call it home because we felt we were at our own home. It is super clean and features everything you need for a pleasant stay and it.is located in lovely Ponsonby road.

I strongly recommend it to visitors to Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rouzbeh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Second stay here, the staff are wonderfully welcoming, the lodge pristine. Fresh flowers, lovely bedding, awesome pillows. Wonderful place to stay - home away from home. The lcoation could not be better and yet quiet and peaceful, the view over the city lovely

Room Tip: Cottage is cosy, comfy and has a lovely outdoor area. Towels thick and fully, little tocuhers like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My experience at Ponsonby Manor was by far met with the most hospitality that I have experienced traveling to date. We contacted the Manor in an emergency and they accommodated us on the spot, quickly, efficiently and with extreme understanding as to our situation. After staying for 3 nights, our accommodations elsewhere for the following days yet again fell through! And Jill (very friendly woman who took care of all the accommodations) called the owner and explained the situation to him. He was very understanding and they arranged for us to stay another week moving around their schedule to make it convenient for us.

They were very professional and run an very good business here. I highly recommend this establishment if you are here for a few days, a week or a month!

My sister had stayed at the Red Monkey Travellers Lodge and had nothing but amazing experiences there as well. She corroborated all the hospitality, good business ethic, and friendliness of the Red Monkey establishments.

I said it once, I'll stay it again-- VERY highly recommended.

Rooms were clean, house was immaculate. Quiet, but in a great and lively location. Each room comes with newly renovated bathrooms and furnishings. Kitchen is well equipped and easy to cook in. Guests are respectful and clean. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Fabulous heritage house, immaculately restored as a guest house. Rooms are light , airy and very comfortable. There is very good attention to detail too, even down to fresh cut flowers changed daily on the hall stand.
The guest house is very well located too. Plenty of cafes , restaurants and bars all within walking distance along Ponsonby Road. The city is a short ten minute bus ride away, with a stop opposite.
Staff were attentive and friendly.
The next time I'm in Auckland I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room nine has a private balcony with panoramic views of the CBD and harbour, spectacular !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiria, Portugal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a place that trully makes you feel like home. The owners (Thank you Jill) are so kind, the rooms are excelent and the location is very good. Only 10 min away from the CBD and so easy to find. Great facilities and great atmosphere. I would definetly comeback and recommend to every people who does appreciate a calm and relaxed night of good sleep. Top Choice!!!!

Room Tip: Even the gardens rooms are good so, just book and trust Jill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuiPedroSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I found this on Agoda.com and it is absolutely a diamond in the rough. Great location, great views, great value and great place.

Built in 1894 in the very posh and fashionable Ponsonby area of Auckland with a fantastic view of the city and easily accessed by public transportation or a nice walk to downtown. I found the rooms very presentable, very comfy and a phenomenal alternative to a hotel.

Room Tip: I had one of the best valued rooms in the manor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor

Property: Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Address: 229 Ponsonby Road, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-opened December 2011, Ponsonby Manor guest house is a gracious Victorian mansion that’s been completely restored to its former grandeur. Set in the heart of cosmopolitan Ponsonby, the soul of Auckland city, this iconic building is a part of New Zealand’s early settler history. It’s a peaceful retreat from the bustle of Ponsonby road with stunning views of harbour and city. The Manor has been completely renovated and all the rooms are beautifully furnished with a modern fit out against elegant Victorian craftsmanship. Floor to ceiling tiled ensuites throughout, large LCD TV’s, Air conditioning etc Enjoy a champagne on your balcony or in the Manors beautiful garden setting, then join in the fun immediately across the road at some of Auckland’s well renown restaurants. Afterwards take a short stroll along Ponsonby Road to visit the many bars, cafes and late night retreats that Ponsonby is famous for! There are separate computer stations with laser printer and UNLIMITED FREE ultrafast fibre broadband that’s fast. Alternatively connect from your room via WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing