We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good !”
Review of Kizuna

Kizuna
Ranked #651 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistently Good !”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Went back for our wedding anniversary because the previous experience had been so good. We were not disappointed. Our only complaint would be that it was dimly lit which made reading the menu difficult. They had more than enough staff and the service was excellent. Dishes (a la carte) arrived in good time but not so fast that we were rushed or hadn’t finished the last one. The food quality was excellent in both flavour and preparation. Dish sizes are small but then that is the appeal; you get to try many different types of food and there are so many varieties to choose. This could be expensive, but we walked away for $88 for 2 including a beer and some sake. Their alcohol beverage prices are possibly the cheapest in Auckland. So, we will certainly be going back as this is in our opinion the most value for money AUTHENTIC Japanese restaurant in Auckland.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“worst meal in auckland”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

very disappointed in the whole night we had.The inviting entrance was the highlight however the service was deplorable and the food was disgusting.I treated the whole of my family to a mothers day dinner.we arrived at 6.0pm and was not given our first course until 7.35pm.The main meal came 25min after this but at differnet times.we were told to eat and to wait for the rest of the meals.We dont eat seperately and waited a further 10min for the rest of the courses to be served.By this time the meals were luke warm.We should have walked out there and then but we were all hungry.Would never recommend to anyone or go there again.
the people that would benefit from this would be superwok takeaway next door as my son went straight into there upon leaving the restuaurant to get some decent food.terrible

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leetennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb Value for money and authentic Japanese cuisine”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

A marvelous variety of authentic Japanese dishes rarely offered outside of Japan. We had many dishes as portions are deliberately prepared to encourage patrons to sample a variety of different foods, although some dishes are offered in a larger size.

Every dish was perfectly cooked and presented. The service was excellent; quick, efficient, and friendly.

3 of us ate and drank for $100, superb value for money. We will go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A nice little local place with good food”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Kizuna opened in November 2011 and we've since eaten in the restaurant twice and twice had takeaways. Great value for money with very enthusiastic and welcoming service. Food is nicely presented and tasty without being either pretentious or truly excellent. A definite 3.5-4/5 and worth a try for the novelty of being the nicest local restaurant in it's neighbourhood.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank foodlover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent, average food...slow service (but friendly!)”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Got a 25% off flyer dropped in our letterbox, figured we'd give it a try. When we arrived there was one other table of 3. The Japanese wait staff was very friendly and sweet. The food came out VERY SLOWLY. The food was okay...average. Not bad and not great. The location is not the best...looks a little run down outside but, they have done a nice job with the interior. Don't think we will be going back. It took over 1.5 hours to get through dinner and we really didn't order much. We decided we would rather make the drive to the CBD and have dinner at Tanukis Japanese restaruant (which is awesome!) next time. This place is worth a try if you are in the area...but, I wouldn't go out of my way...it's just totally average. The prices are a bit on the high side for the location. Very clean bathrooms.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veritas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kizuna also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kizuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing