We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the scenic route”

The Refreshment Room
Ranked #293 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Refreshment Room is all about fresh, homemade and inspired, rustic Italian cooking. We make almost all of our food onsite and incorporate locally produced organic and seasonal ingredients into our meals; also supplemented by our chef-tendered vegetable garden. We cater for vegetarian, gluten free and vegan diners. We provide a relaxed, dining experience with a large outdoor deck and stunning views of the Waitakere bush. Only five minutes from Titirangi Village. We host large groups, banquet dining, functions and events.
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the scenic route”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

An unexpected find just outside Titirangi on the way to Piha Beach. I wish it were warmer otherwise we would have sat out on the deck. Lovely views and it smelled delicious from the moment we walked in. Had stuffed capsicum entrée followed by duck and savory crepe mains. The portions were hearty enough that we didn’t need dessert.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MexiLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    57
    29
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No power, no worries”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

A grabone voucher for brunch made us come here but the food means we'll go back. If you want something a little different for brunch, then give RR a try. Even though their power was down they were cooking by candle light and smiling. The staff were lovely though service was a little hit and miss. If asked if we wanted more tea we would have said yes. But no one asked. Only complaint would be that the tables are too packed in. We were there early so had no issue but I'd hate to be there on a busy night. I'd say better to have fewer tables with happier clients.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryleita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were Sardines being sqashed in a can - much better places locally”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

They squeeze you in so tight the tables are almost touching..
People from other tables are actually touching you..
The noise is high and it is difficult to hear a conversation.
The waitresses are very condescending and over confident

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeauknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nup”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

OK, some notice seems to have been taken of previous criticisms as the staff seemed to be trying. But, as far as we were concerned, failed. Guys, you will make more money if you keep an eye out to see when glasses are empty and get the drinks orders back more quickly we noticed we were not the only table suffering from this. The bar is clearly an understaffed area. The meals? Too much deep frying - even though half the potatoes with the (undercooked) steak were left the oily-in-the-mouth taste remained well into the night. Steak knives would also be a good idea to save on the arm muscles. No desserts ordered as we woudn't have been able to see what we were eating - the bulb above our table was out.

The evening was not a complete disaster as the snapper was terrific.

But we're not coming back in a hurry. This is obviously a busy, popular restaurant, but it needs to up its game.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wakapaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, terrible service from them”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I'll keep this really simple. Food was great, staff were friendly but for me they little 1% things that take a good place to great were missing.

We booked a table well in advance which was confimed via phone....nice touch. Upon arrival were pleasantly acknowledged but instead of showing us to our table our waiter pointed in the direction of our table....Ok maybe that's a nice "informal" touch benefit of doubt however from there in here is what could have been improved.

1) 1st approach was after 5 minutes or so asking for our order, no drinks offered or drinks menu which they then went off to collect
2) We ordered from the specials board 2 cocktails, one a champagne cocktail(lovely) and a mojito(very good) but they took 20 minutes
3) Problem with electrics so our light wasn't working, they said we'll just get some candles so you can see..... 20 minutes later this hasn't happened, luckily the table next to us vacated so we took theirs.
4) Food arrived and was awesome,as I had had steak and my wife fish we asked for a glass of red and a glass of white.......as we were over half way thru our mains the waiter appeared to say my choice of red was sold out and he recommended what turned out to be a nice alternative, only issue being by the time both it and my wife's white arrived we had finished our mains
5) The other element here is we were keen for desert and perhaps a night cap(our reservation was 830). Despite being pretty full when we arrived the restuarant had thinned out and the staff seemed keener on getting closed up than attending to the remainder of its customers. As our plates weren't cleared for approx 10-15 mins they missed the boat here.

Guys you have the difficult bit right, a great menu, very well cooked. Take some time to a)Train your staff or b) Hire some better people.

If you want a template have a look at my review of the engine room, food there is a pretty similar feel but every interaction they have with you makes you feel like the most valued customer in the world, at RR I didn't feel that at all.

We will be back because the food was great and maybe you just had an off night but I won't recommend until we have and it's better

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adsnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refreshment Room also viewed

Titirangi, Auckland Region
Waiatarua, Auckland Region
 
Waitakere City, Auckland Region
Titirangi, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Refreshment Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing