We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hosts”
Review of Ponsonby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ponsonby House
Ranked #18 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hosts”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My family and I stayed at Ponsonby House in January 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day stay. Ponsonby House is well located and is close to Auckland CBD.

The rooms were very spacious and immaculately clean.

Bernadette and Jonathan are excellent hosts and showed us true kiwi hospitality. When we checked out, we also appreciated Jonathan driving us to the Passenger Cruise Ship Terminal in downtown Auckland.

Well worth the stay - highly recommended!

Martin & Vivien Winship

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winship51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
32
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at Ponsonby House in the Jasmine Room, very large and sunny room.
Bernadette and Jonathan are great hosts, nothing was a bother from arranging transport to drawing us maps. Great location to all the great restaurants and shops in the area and very close to be able to catch the bus into the city.Breakfast was great, having croissants deleveried to your door each morning was a wonderful surprise. Thank you very much for a lovely stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We arrived after a 30-hour trip at 8:00 am and were greeted warmly and showed to the lovely Jasmine room. We spent 5 nights during our trip and Bernadette and Jonathan could not have been more friendly and helpful, arranging transport and giving advice on restaurants and things to do. The location is perfect, with literally dozens of restaurants within easy walking distance, and the bus to downtown Auckland a few steps away. The breakfasts are delicious. We could not recommend Ponsonby House higher. It's among the best in any country we've visited.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandfrank2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the Ponsonby House for three nights and it was perfect. Bernadette and Jonathan are very friendly and hospitable. We got a lot of important information and they made us feel like home. Our room was big, comfortable, bright and with nice view. The continental breakfast which was served in our room was delicious. The location just next to Ponsonby road is perfect to explore this area of Auckland. There is a huge variety of restaurants, cafes and bars available. There is no doubt that we will stay again at Ponsonby House for our next visit to Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived early in the morning after nearly 24 hours in transit and were delighted to discover that Bernadette had fully anticipated our early arrival. Our beautifully decorated room was ready and waiting for us! So we got off to a tremendous start and were never disappointed thereafter. Ponsonby House is perfectly situated and Bernadette & Jonathan were wonderfully friendly and offered much helpful advice about things to do, getting around town, places to eat etc. Our stay was short but very sweet indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've just had the pleasure of staying at Ponsonby House for 3 nights. Bernadette and Jonathan were so welcoming, nothing was a problem and I was left feeling incredibly safe, warm and comfortable in his friendly, homely environment. The balance between caring, personal attention and respect for my own space was perfectly achieved.

The location is wonderful. Rocket Kitchen on Ponsonby Road served up delicious takeaway lunches, Coffee Supreme 2mins walk down Douglas Street had great coffee in a funky warehouse-like café environment, and Blue Breeze Inn was an exciting place for dinner with top quality Chinese-styled cuisine.

I would definitely recommend Ponsonby House and hope I can visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We loved our stay at the Ponsonby house.

We arrived during afternoon rush hour, there was a lot of traffic driving into Auckland and the area was very busy because there are a lot of restaurants, still there was a parking space for us right in front of the lovely Victorian house. The B&B is literally a few steps off the main road, on a very quiet side road with trees and a view over the harbour.

We had the Darjeeling room, which is large, very pleasant, with a comfortable king size bed, sunset view, tv, desk, fridge and a newly appointed tiled bathroom. Wi-fi is free and fast.

Bernadette and Jonathan are very welcoming, they offered us refreshments, we had a nice chat, they recommended a couple of great restaurants in the area and took care of us with kindness and grace.

Breakfast was pain au chocolat, juice, tees and coffees and fruit, waiting for us right outside the room on a tray. There's plenty of space in the room to have breakfast comfortably.

Our room was upstairs, while Bernadette and Jonathan live downstairs. There are two lovely cats living in the house, we were very happy about that but if you don't like cats or are allergic don't worry, they keep to their own rooms or the porch.

Room Tip: The Darjeeling room is very bright and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,746 reviews
1.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 58 in Auckland
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponsonby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby House

Property: Ponsonby House
Address: 8 Douglas Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll love coming home to Ponsonby House, boutique bed and breakfast. Enjoy the old-world charm of the house which is located in the heart of the thriving inner-city suburb of Ponsonby, only minutes from the centre of Auckland city. Enjoy the luxurious en-suited rooms and relax in the sumptuous, super-comfortable beds and Egyptian cotton sheets. With the cafes, restaurants, bars and boutiques on Ponsonby Rd only a minute’s walk away, everything is on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ponsonby House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing