We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MooChowChow

MooChowChow
Ranked #56 of 2,227 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We popped in early on a saturday night without a booking, they were fully booked later on but we managed to secure a table for just over an hour which was fine as the service was great and we didn't feel rushed at all.
We had an Asian green curry and the squid and pork salad which were both delicious, some of the best curries I have had.
The waiting chaps were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Can't wait to go back and try out more of their menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    57
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing array of food. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Food was outstanding, such a great range of flavours. The staff were more than happy to help and matched cocktails to the different courses. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Mithras007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Went for dinner with my partner a week ago. We both work in hospitality and can't help but notice all the little details when we go out as customers. Service at Moo Chow Chow is top notch on all levels. The food is fusion at its best. We tried two of their cocktails (the Horse and Scorpion and the the Ping Pong Wong -both great), then we had the Caramelised Pork on mandarin and the Red Curry Beef Rib (which melts in your mouth, it's so amazing), and the chocolate mousse as dessert. Relaxed but chic atmosphere. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tttatiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Moochowchow is a great restaurant with excellent food!
The caramelised pork belly was incredible, so was the soft shell crab. It is well priced and the food comes out very quickly!
The atmosphere is lovely, it's not too crammed and loud like a similar restaurant in Ponsonby, it's just perfect!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieNZ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must go again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Went on Friday night for friends birthday with a group of 10. Place was packed. Table wasn't ready which meant about 5-10min wait a bit cramped in the already busy bar..only negative. Once seated the waiter suggested a set menu at $50/head which was an excellent and easy choice. Promptly returned with our many drinks orders of the night then the food flowed through. Every dish was tasty and well presented top marks here. Overall an excellent night and will return again as wanting to try more dishes!

Helpful?
Thank McBanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MooChowChow also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to MooChowChow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing