We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“flavorsome,funky,memorable”
Review of MooChowChow

MooChowChow
Ranked #65 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“flavorsome,funky,memorable”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our first outstanding restaurant experience in NZ.. our at that time only 1,5 years old daughter,my fiance and myself walked around this place just second day after arriving to NZ. Totally jet flagged hoping to get some decent food we picked this place and i must say it was just what my taste buds could have dreamed of..( we shared a full duck and a plain house salad-which was extraordinary) very nice and professional service and a great atmosphere just fulfilled something that will always stay in my memory. belated BIG thanks. loved it!! ( i think it was sometime around 15-16 feb 2013.. thanks again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_kovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    60
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
314 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Moo Yum Yum”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place has taken a while to get to but it did not disappoint. It was awesome. We had the red curry beef rib, bok Choy, five spice chicken and pork rolls. The food was simple but damn tasty. Very hard to beat

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place to have cocktails with girlfriends”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Not really enjoyed the food though..too much spices for me.but the atmosphere was great! Cocktails was cool too..must see their cocktail menu with song lyrics to jive while ordering your fave cocktails

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetravellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went here on a Friday lunchtime with a couple of girlfriends. Between the three of us we got a salad, and two small sized mains plus some rice. This was ample food. It was all delicious.
The house made white cola was a bit syrupy sweet for my taste but I do really appreciate the range of interesting non-alcoholic drinks and would try something else next time.
After the meal had one of their specialty hot chocolates. It was pretty amazing and definitely not for those on a diet!
Would return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Megs_TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very average and that's being generous”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Went here with friends on Saturday night. My friend had booked a table weeks ago as we were coming up from Wellington for the weekend and wanted to go somewhere we hadn't been before. We arrived at 8 and after making our way through the crowds at the finally made it to the restaurant counter only to be told there was no booking for us and that they were full. To her credit the maitre 'd said she could squeeze us in on the veranda which was closed in by plastic (shocking weather) and as we were keen to check out the food we agreed. 20 mins later a drinks waiter came and took an order for cocktails. Mine tasted like lemon cordial, not a hint of alcohol could I detect. Our order was taken within half an hour and received minutes later. We shared several dishes which weren't memorable so much so I can't even remember what we had with the exception of the pork hock which you needed a good set of grinders to eat your way through the chewy skin and given there was no lighting other than a candle it was difficult to distinguish between bone, meat and fat.

So Given my experience i am surprised to read the reviews rating this restaurant as being excellent. I won't be going back and nor will my friends. fortunately will other great choices available I don't need to.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MooChowChow also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to MooChowChow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing