We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop while on Waiheke Island”
Review of Rangihoua Estate

Rangihoua Estate
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$196.67*
and up
The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch
Ranked #63 of 268 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on beautiful Waiheke Island, Rangihoua Estate are olive growers and producers of premium, internationally-awarded Extra Virgin Olive Oil.We welcome visitors during opening hours to try our oils. The Tasting Room is open during the Summer Season (1 October - 31 May):Monday - Saturday: 11am - 3pmSundays & Public Holidays: 11am - 2pmWinter Season:Wednesday - Sunday: 11am - 2pmIf you would like to learn even more about the making of Extra Virgin Olive Oil and all its taste and health benefits, please call or email to book a friendly and informative tour. If you are looking for a gift or treat, in addition to our Extra Virgin Olive Oil, the Tasting Room stocks other complementary products including artisan foods, pottery, natural beauty products, books and candles. Rangihoua Estate also has lovely gardens surrounded by olive groves and native New Zealand Forest, forming a natural amphitheatre. Through-out the year we host public events including the Waiheke Olive and Artisan Food Festival each November and the Waiheke International Jazz Festival every April. Please go to the website, find us on facebook or contact us if you have any further enquiries.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great stop while on Waiheke Island”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

By all means, stop here whenever on Waiheke Island for a taste of world class olive oil. The staff create a very welcoming atmosphere and their personalities fill the room. A great place to buy some olive oil for family, friends, and yourselves to remember your stay on this island of paradise

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMEMBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Olive Oil To A New Level”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A great stop if you are visiting Waihiki Island. This little gem is a top shelf producer of virgin olive oil. They provided a very informative tour of their small production facility and offered a tasting of their award winning products. The top rated oil was listed among the top 20 oils in the world by the Italians who rate such products. Their local favorite variety had a grassy note and was my personal favorite. The staff was terrific and very welcoming. Don't miss it if you are an olive oil fan or want to become one.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RayA435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Small family farm - with excellent olive oil.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had first hand tour of the olive trees and production facilities. Learned that all olive oil is not created equal. Rangihoua produces small quantities of excellent quality olive oil. We enjoyed the stop with our agritour group.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank peach8054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Rangihoau Estate on our honeymoon. We were welcomed in by the very hospitable owner who offered us samples and details of each of their olive oils. They are simply delectable.

Helpful?
Thank JandAKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rangihoau Estate”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Olive oil! And then you get to see how it's made... with an Italian olive press. They also display a locally made (large) chess set.... quite unique. When you drive onto the estate, it looks like a garage.... the gardens are just beautiful, very well laid out, and the olive oils very yummy!

Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveller004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rangihoua Estate also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Rangihoua Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing