We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,188)
Filter reviews
3,188 results
Traveler rating
2,045
784
240
80
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,045
784
240
80
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava restaurantmarina view roomluxury roomviaduct harbourbeautiful hotelrain showerturn down servicefloor to ceiling windowsnespresso machinewynyard quarternew zealandroom servicerestaurants and barsroom was largebed was very comfortablevalet parkingferry terminal
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 3,188 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2017

We spent 3 nights here at the beginning of our New Zealand trip and were very impressed with the hotel. The check in experience was excellent, as the man who checked us in was extremely friendly and gave us a room early, which was nice after a very long flight. Our room was beautiful, very comfortable and quiet, and the hotel was in walking distance of several restaurants and bars, along with the harbor, as we took a couple ferry trips during our stay. Our room wasn't serviced after the first night even though we returned late in the afternoon, but they made up for it by coming back when we were out to dinner. We would stay here again if we return to Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NIKieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

Bonjour NIKieser,


Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Sofitel on TripAdvisor

We are thrilled to know that you had a Magnifique experience and your most wonderful compliments of our well appointed rooms, central location, and superb check in experience are very much appreciated and will be shared with the team.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another Magnifique stay.

Sincerely,

Linh Pham
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Sofitel on Thursday evening, and were lucky enough to be selected as guests of the day. We were treated to an upgraded room, dessert plate and welcome drink, and some of the best customer service we have experienced in years. From the concierge and front office team, to the admin, maintenance and kitchen staff, everyone we encountered and the facilities we enjoyed showed dedication to quality and excellence. Thank you Sofitel Auckland for such a lovely stay :)

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank saturnalicius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2017

Bonjour saturnalicius,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Sofitel on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to know that you had a Magnifique experience and your most wonderful and motivational compliments of our hotel, well appointed room, facilities and our ambassadors’ service are much appreciated and will be shared with all the teams and departments.

Thank you once again for sharing your lovely feedback which truly motivate and inspire us all. We sincerely hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Linh Pham
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017

The Sofitel is a superb hotel with excellently furnished rooms and equally impressive lobby areas. The staff were most welcoming and helpful which helped make the stay most enjoyable.
I understand that some rooms have Harbour view, ours did not which was the only disappointing aspect. Indeed we had a room opposite a bus depot and also where some skips were placed - around 6.00 am it got quite noisy as buses left the depot and skips were emptied.
Food was excellent and the waiting staff were good, hot breakfast was ordered from menu and delivered to table.
Close to the harbour, the hotel provided easy access to an abundance of restaurants and bars and of course the ferries.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the bus depot
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2017

Bonjour Col M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

It is delightful to read about our welcoming ambassadors and 'impressive' lobby areas. I apologize for any noise inconvenience from the room appointed to you. The hotel strives to fulfill all preferences and note they are subject to availability.

We are very thankful for your feedback and please feel free to contact me personally on Linh.Pham@sofitel.com for any future bookings regarding room preferences we can build your profile on.

Sincerely,


Linh Pham
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017

This is a second stay at Sofitel viaduct harbour. This year was a late anniversary celebration. Nice touch to welcome us with cake in the room. The room itself was great, very comfortable with a great view. Worth the extra payment for upgrade. Dissapointing to go to the in house bar and be told that the in house Accor card I had paid extra for was not accepted in the bar- weird to have the in house bar that doesn’t accept the in house hotel card. No warning or advisory about this anywhere. Breakfast was great the warm welcome felt genuine. The pool sauna steam room and spa pool very welcome. Other tiny comments would be wallpaper peeling. Overall good.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 488ajl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2017

Bonjour 488ajl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience and highlighting our breakfast and hotel facilities.

I apologise you were not aware of the Accor Plus Card discount at our hotel restaurant only and this is applicable to only food and no beverages, therefore it cannot be used at our Sabrage Bar.

We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to make the necessary changes in the services and products we provide. Thank you again for sharing your experience. I hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again for another special occasion.

Sincerely,

Linh Pham
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017

The Sofitel was our base for 5 days in Auckland. We got a courtyard facing room on the 5th floor. It provided a lot of light and absolute darkness at night. The bed was especially comfortable, we slept well every night. The bathrooms were well appointed, I especially loved the large tub. The shower area is a little dark as there is no light right above. We enjoyed the nespresso machine for in room coffee in the morning. The staff at reception learned that we were celebrating our honeymoon and left a dessert with "Congratulations" for us in the room. It was a very lovely gesture.
The location was nice, overlooking the marina. It was close enough to all the restaurants and action, but far enough away that it was quiet. I would stay at this hotel again if I ever find myself in Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Bonjour Amanda J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience. It is with great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our comfortable Sofitel MyBed and the delivery of service from our helpful and friendly ambassadors.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and choosing to stay with us on this very special occasion. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Auckland.

Sincerely,


Linh Pham
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews