We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Nearby Hotels
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
$134
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$284
$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$145
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$153
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$159
$139
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heritage Auckland(Auckland Central)
$190
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$129
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$188
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,086)
Filter reviews
3,087 results
Traveler rating
1,970
769
231
79
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,970
769
231
79
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava restaurantmarina view roomluxury roomviaduct harbourbeautiful hotelrain showerfloor to ceiling windowsnespresso machinewynyard quarterturn down serviceroom servicenew zealandrestaurants and barslarge bathroomvalet parkingbed was very comfortableferry terminal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,674 - 1,679 of 3,087 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a great hotel. Very well located in the city centre, on the waterfront. Fantastic rooms and wonderful food. It is pricey but luxurious.it is quietly located despite being close to the buzzing city waterfront area. Very helpful staff, went over and above in helping us sort out car hire. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jancrow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Bonjour Jancrow4.

Thank you for such amazing feedback & for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay.It is gratifying to see that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, our waterfront location & the service you received throughout your stay. We are very pleased to hear that the ambassadors were able to assist you with your vehicle rental requirements.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A fine hotel by the harbour with boats and yachts anchored infront of your balcony room. If you must stay here, choose a room preferably facing the harbour. Our room faces the inward waters where it appears to me that your own private boats can be moored just infront of your room if you chose a room on the 1st floor parallel to the waters.

Sofitel is a luxury brand hotel and we had an excellent suite room which was large and has a large TV which unfortunately did not have time to watch. Room is clean and and has a large bathroom with a large bathtub and standing shower. The room comes with a balcony and also has floor to ceiling windows. Lanvin toiletries were provided in the bathroom. There were also slippers, bathrobes and chocolates. Bed is comfortable and there is the usual tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. Not to forget wifi is complimentary. Lobby of the hotel is small but front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Nearby is The NZ Maritime Museum just 15 minutes walk from the hotel. If you prefer to dine outside, take a walk to one of the many nearby popular restaurants by the beautiful harbour at The Viaduct. This hotel is really beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Bonjour Jazabelle,

Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your Sofitel experience, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, our waterfront location & the service you received throughout your stay. It is always gratifying to hear that our guests have had an amazing experience with the assistance of our Ambassadors and the hotel facilities and amenities such as our Lanvin products in our bath rooms.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour in the near future.
Kindest regards,

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great job the staff and management at this hotel. Rooms large & modern, very interesting internal courtyard designs. Location if you like looking at boats and yachts it does not get better than this one. You can exit hotel on the water both left and right for major bars and restuarant life just short walks. Breakfast Buffet a delighter for quality and variety and the staff attention to you, even though self service, they engaged with us each morning. Ditto in the bar at nightime, good drinks selection and bowls of nuts, with excellent bartender. Even the little cafe has good well trained staff and excellent product waterfront. Bellstaff helpful & knowledgeable Absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be larger and water views
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CS1Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Bonjour CS1Shanghai,

Thank you for such kind word & for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, our waterfront location and our close proximity to most of the local hustle and bustle of the restaurants and nightlife while still retaining the tranquillity of the hotel and its inter water features that is our courtyards. It is truly gratifying to hear that our guests have had a wonderful time with the assistance of our Ambassadors throughout the hotel.


Thank you once again for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews