We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Whitianga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

From the first moment of arrival, until our departure, we received impeccable service, from friendly staff. The hotel is very well designed, just love the water inside and outside the hotel. It is so quiet and peaceful, sitting outside at the cafe or bar, on the waters edge, that you totally forget about the big city noise and traffic just a block away. The hotel is perfectly located, within walking distance of the bars and restaurants in the Viaduct and Wynyard areas, and the Sky City.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra, to get a room on the marina side. A great view of the boats in the marina, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,708
    693
    213
    70
    33
See reviews for
359
1,591
133
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

we stayed at the Sofitel Auckland March 7th for 2 weeks. We were not on business and not on vacation - our 22 year old daughter was donating her kidney to her 11 year old cousin who lives in AUK. Sofitel was incredible. Service, food, comfort, staff - everything was excellent. Fantastic location with great restaurants within walking distance, or their own restaurant with excellent food. Rooms were nice, beds fantastic, views were breathtaking. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnatodd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Bonjour Donnatodd4,


Thank you for your kind words & taking the time to share your Sofitel experience. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & your magnifique experience in Lava dining and the rest of the hotel!

It was only our pleasure to have been able to play some small role in what was for your family a life changing experience.

Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour strives to provide superior levels of personalised service to all guests; therefore your feedback is extremely valued & we thank you again for providing it. We are all very pleased to hear that your daughter and her cousin are both doing well and that the operation was such a success.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Auckland on a nice restful holiday & trust that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as your previous stay.

Kindest regards,

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with friendly attentive staff and being my first stay I was pleasantly surprised The bathroom was fabulous especially the shower and the lovely Lanvin amenities. I would highly recommend it and can't wait to stay again. Also great location right on the viaduct..


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank shazza1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Bonjour Shazza1956,

Thank you for your kind words & taking the time to share your Sofitel experience. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able surprise you. I am very pleased that you enjoy our rain showers as well as our lovely Lanvin bathroom amenities.

Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour strives to provide superior levels of personalised service and products to all guests; therefore your feedback is extremely valued & we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon & trust that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as your previous stay.

Kindest regards,

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was up to the standards that I expect from a Sofitel. The rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms are quite nice. We found the staff to be attentive . Baj served as doorman and bellhop and was exceptional. He was always on top of each individual's luggage and knew what was going on with so many individuals coming and going!
The hotel was located close to the harbor and downtown area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed two nights on business. Found the staff great. Very helpful with checking in and taking my bags up to the room. Lovely room that was serviced twice a day. Breakfast was good. But the service not as good as reception. We were seated but not told where anything was. Food was good though. Would be a great location for a first time or tourist trip to Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovydivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing