We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The location and the room were faultless. The room was beautifully laid out, and still had plenty of space with a roll-away child's bed. All of the staff were very helpful. The pool was beautiful. The only significant problem was at breakfast where the coffee took a very long time to arrive. It seemed that there was only one person on duty who had any skills in making coffee, and things didn't work at all well when that person was taken away on other duties.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgieBoy1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,843 - 1,849 of 2,939 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

On check in we were told very abruptly and by an off hand receptionist, that we were not booked in . I told her we were as I had checked the day before, because I didnt trust the Sofitel. I wasnt wrong. After telling her to check with reservations she returned to say she had made a mistake, and handed be a comptimentary drinks card and told us we could only order a glass of house wine and a beer. She then told us that we could only use our Accor Advantage Card in one of the restaurants, and no we couldnt have a meal in the Cafe 21 as it was about to close this was 2.45pm.(So much for international flight arrivals) Our room was small albeit with a nice harbour view that we had to pay extra for.There were dirty finger marks on the windows. We use our drinks card at 10.45pm and was told that the bar closed at 11p.m(isnt that early for a 5 star international hotel)
We went down to breakfast the next morning at 10.30 and were greeted with distain as we dared to arrive so late.(it closed at 11.am)We were shown to an outside table, after the maitre d briefly informed us of the food available.We waited for a long time for the food to arrive, maybe that was .A gust of wind lited up the unbrella next to us which smashed with such force sending all the crockery crashing to the ground. Thank goodness there was no one sitting there. The waiter came out laughing....
This hotel appears NOT to train its staff properly as throughout our stay they appeared nervous and stressed, presenting a very uncomfortable atmosphere, not at all relaxing or enjoyable. We will not be returning. This hotel is a very bad example of Accor Sofitel. I know they can do better, as I have stayed with the chain many times before.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveroflife40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Spent 3 nights here for our honeymoon - was really looking forward to staying at this property on Viaduct Harbour close to so many restaurants and shops. The location of the hotel is quite good and it's also a short walk away from quite a bit of activity on Queen Street. Additionally the hotel is quite clean and has a modern, sleek look. The lobby/interior is styled very much like the W hotel brand. The concierge staff was quite nice & helpful - even charging our camera for free for us.

However, as much as we enjoyed the positive features of the hotel's location, our stay was riddled with many service shortcomings. Perhaps we got unlucky but I imagine if this happened to us there are other guests who might experience similar mishaps:

1) When we checked in, my wife and I were exhausted and put the "do not disturb" sign on our door to take a nap. Unfortunately, someone came by our room TWICE knocking LOUDLY. The first time we ignored them but the second time awoke us completely from the nap. It turned out the hotel was delivering two small chocolates on a tray to our room. I've never been disturbed by a hotel in such a situation over such a non-essential delivery. We were quite furious about it as we were unable to get our nap in. When I asked the woman who delivered the chocolate, she mentioned being instructed to deliver the items. Apparently employees aren't empowered to make judgments on their own especially when there is a clear "do not disturb" on the door.

2) My wife's jacket was not returned to her when we gave it (along with luggage and other items) to the hotel when waiting for our room to be ready. When we discovered the missing jacket later, the hotel did find it in the back marked "do not deliver". Not sure why or how this happened.

3) Before going to dinner on our first night, we called for turndown service. When we arrived back in the room a few hours later, nobody had come to our room. We had to ask the reception to send someone and leave the room for 30 minutes for someone to clean and service our room. When they did service the room, they forgot to replenish towels. Very sloppy job.

There were other minor issues - such as being charged for Internet that was supposed to be free (the staff removed the charge), the curtains in our room didn't close completely so we couldn't get a pitch dark room, etc. During our stay we explained some of our service grievances with the hotel but it didn't seem to help. We don't plan on a return visit to this property.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil_in_Morristown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We loved the three nights we spent here on our RTW trip. We could go for a walk in Victoria Park or on the harbour, with a lot of restaurants in walking distance. The only thing I found a bit strange was the internet code which expired too soon. But since we were here on vacation, we didn't bother. We just noticed that also at other Sofitels we stayed at (Bora Bora and LA), you have to keep entering the internet code to get connected, you can't just enter it once when you first use it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomcat1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Currently 2 nights into a 3 night stay. The hotel is a 10 min walk maximum from the downtown harbour area of Auckland and the main shopping area. The hotel seems to be in a more commercial area of Auckland however the area is very modern. The hotel itself is new and fresh. Rooms are large with nice facilities including a sink in our room. Bathroom has great shower and a free standing bath.

Free wifi ish in that we only got 300MB for 3 days stay but at least there was some free wifi. TV in room doesnt have a great picture and the safe is a bit fiddly to work! Gym small but adequate with a lap pool.

Hard to fault to be honest, perhaps a bit more in the "action" would be better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We arrived late and left even later from this hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful, everyone from the concierge, receptionists, coffee shop team and the cleaners went out of their way to make this a very special stay. The rooms were very well appointed and the harbour view is well worth paying for. The hotel has a good gym and spa facilities and is excellently well located to explore the city from.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,398 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $207 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing