We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice hotel, well appointed rooms and active and attentive staff who really tries there best to make you feel happy.
Bar, lively in afternoons and the restaurant for dinner was pretty full and both food and service good.
Breakfast good quality and wide choice of items, only clearing tables is a point of attention.

If there is one think I need to mention as not so nice its my room location. (all rooms XX5) I opted for the more expensive room with Marina view only to find out my view was blocked for about 75% due to an apartment building. So if you ask me if the extra for this room was worthwhile, no. It would be fair from the hotel to call this partial Marina view, i feels a little as knocking some money out of my pocket for not much....

I will mention this when I check out coming sunday because its ok to ask more for whatever you like as long as you are honest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,032 - 2,038 of 3,007 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed twice, for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip to New Zealand, and 3 nights at the end. The hotel is a glamorous and immaculate ultra-modern glass box building with walls of glass and modern pools and fountains overlooking the viaduct portion of the harbour in a swanky new business park/community about 10-15 minutes walk to Queen Street.. Fresh flowers and fine art decorate the public areas, highlighted by a magnificent Maori wood carving at the end of the hallway in the reception area.

We arrived at midnight, and most of the lights had been turned lower in an already-dark lobby area, and only one front desk staff person was available at that time: we ended up lugging our own luggage from the taxi to the front desk since the porter was engaged elsewhere...surprising not to have assured staff at the entrance in a 5-star hotel. Since I was traveling with a family member, I had requested two beds, but there was only a king bed in the room so I ended up on a roll away: the hotel promptly credited me on my bill for the problem, and I appreciated it. The beds were separated into two adjacents twins for the remainder of the stay. The hotel also had an incorrect king room reserved for my return stay, but said this was probably more of a problem with the information passed to them from the internet booking site (Orbit) that I had used; however there was a room available with two beds.

For security reasons, room keys are required for the elevator which will only stop on your floor. Elevator and room door are highly senstive, and we ended up having to swipe the key multiple times for it to work; a bit annoying.

We selected a luxury room overlooking the viaduct; a canal lined with private yachts and modern condos, and then a fountain view room on the return trip. From the water view room, you can also see the Sky City tower from the room's walls of glass. The seating area included a comfy sofa and bar with gratis coffee expresso maker and Illy Italian coffee and teas; a nice touch. The desk was a bit too small, but usable. There are not a lot of TV channels, but there was CNN and the BBC. Like all of New Zealand, there was limited closet space to hang clothes and coats. Bathroom was spacious with both bath and shower with high-end fixtures. There are no electrical outlets near the bed that we could find, so since I sleep with a CPAP respirator, I had to run a very long extension cord (which I bring with me) from the desk on the other side of the room.

Since we got up too late the first morning, we ate at the take out cafe which had some limited seating. It was nice. The other mornings we had the buffet breakfast in the Lava restaurant. The buffet was high quality but was actually a mix of buffet food and the need for ordering certain items to be cooked fresh such as eggs, pancakes or porridge; in actuality since I like a large breakfast when I am touring, this limited the amount I could eat since I was too embarrassed to ask for seconds. American-style coffee was made fresh from a delicious french press. Service was prompt and professional.

Chris, the concierge is a knowledgeable professional that took are of us during our stay. We liked all of his recommendations. Otherwise, we felt the staff was very young, energetic and eager to please, but a bit amateurish and lacking on how to seamlessly respond that comes with a staff that has years of experience and that I normally expect in a 5-star hotel.

The Sofitel is in a swanky new business park waterfront area, but a short walk to actual tourist areas. For those wanting to be in the middle of Queen Street city center shopping and shows, Sky City Grand may be a better location as the Sofitel is a 10-15 minute walk up a hill to that area. The Hilton is also a better location if you want to be near the prime waterfront and upscale Brito Mart shopping area, although it was looking a little worn when we walked by it (we did not go in however).

Room Tip: If you don't select a water view room, note that many of the rooms overlooking the inner pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent location, very clean, private, safe hotel. Never ate there, but the bar was always hopping at night.

The service was hit or miss. Sometimes things would be taken care of in a flash, other times we would be ignored. When on vacation the last thing you want to do is worry about where your bags are or when the turn down service will be. The "concierge" was whichever bellhop was around the desk and the knowledge of Auckland they had was from absolutely none to a bit more than a travel book. The physical hotel is a 4-5 star premise, but the service lacks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mj23439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at Aucklands Sofitel for our 4 year anniversary and were very impressed with the service and quality of the hotel. The only problem was we ordered the romance package which offers a daily in room breakfast however when it came to check out we were advised it was only for dining in the restaurante, however it was refunded with no fuss. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Our rooms were beautifully positioned with views of the AKL Harbour Bridge & Waitemata Harbour. Staff we helpful and accommodating. Nice touch with the French being spoken. Service was impeccable, bags were held until check in and for a few hours after check out time.
Breakfast was more than ample, only criticism was that one meal was delivered cold.
Would definitely return and use as our Auckland base.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is the best hotel I've ever stayed in! Everything about it is 5 star! The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, the rooms are sparkling clean, the beds are the most comfortable ever and the facilities are amazing. If you want to feel like royalty, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TheNuthalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Wonderful service throughout the hotel and large generously appointed rooms. Only a short walk to the fish market area that links via foot bridge to the other side of Viaduct Harbour where there are heaps of restaurants, night clubs and water based activities, Fantastic location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Keeper1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $195 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing