We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with flaws.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel with flaws.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent location, very clean, private, safe hotel. Never ate there, but the bar was always hopping at night.

The service was hit or miss. Sometimes things would be taken care of in a flash, other times we would be ignored. When on vacation the last thing you want to do is worry about where your bags are or when the turn down service will be. The "concierge" was whichever bellhop was around the desk and the knowledge of Auckland they had was from absolutely none to a bit more than a travel book. The physical hotel is a 4-5 star premise, but the service lacks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mj23439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    702
    216
    72
    34
See reviews for
364
1,622
138
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at Aucklands Sofitel for our 4 year anniversary and were very impressed with the service and quality of the hotel. The only problem was we ordered the romance package which offers a daily in room breakfast however when it came to check out we were advised it was only for dining in the restaurante, however it was refunded with no fuss. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Our rooms were beautifully positioned with views of the AKL Harbour Bridge & Waitemata Harbour. Staff we helpful and accommodating. Nice touch with the French being spoken. Service was impeccable, bags were held until check in and for a few hours after check out time.
Breakfast was more than ample, only criticism was that one meal was delivered cold.
Would definitely return and use as our Auckland base.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is the best hotel I've ever stayed in! Everything about it is 5 star! The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, the rooms are sparkling clean, the beds are the most comfortable ever and the facilities are amazing. If you want to feel like royalty, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TheNuthalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Wonderful service throughout the hotel and large generously appointed rooms. Only a short walk to the fish market area that links via foot bridge to the other side of Viaduct Harbour where there are heaps of restaurants, night clubs and water based activities, Fantastic location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Keeper1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Greeted with a friendly smile by all the staff, that made us feel welcome in this great hotel. Very comfortable room & bed. Well set up.Great outlook with the water & boats around. Not to far from Queens Street.Would we stay again? YES.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing