We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Extremely Happy”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My second stay at a Sofitel hotel and was extremely happy. I honestly have no negative comments to make. I arrived to the hotel at 1am and was greeted by happy and helpful staff and throughout my stay the service provided was exceptional. Room was spacious, clean and the bedding and bed most comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 522David_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    702
    216
    72
    34
See reviews for
364
1,622
138
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is nice but prices steep for what you get. We used our Accor free night to try it out but will not choose it again.
The staff are really nice and the service good. Our room was spacious, bathroom big. Only one bath towel for two people, two smaller towels and nice toiletries. We had an espresso coffee maker
with a stainless steel jug to froth the milk but only six tiny milk sachets so how are you supposed to have hot milk in your coffee, the spout would not even reach the milk. I think you should be supplied with a small carton of milk to start with and be able to purchase more if you need it. We gave up and used the instant sachets which we hate.
The bed was so comfortable, hard to get out in the morning. The breakfast was poor. The coffee was cold so we ordered an espresso which they made with a smile. They advertise a fairly late finish so we went down at 9a.m to find almost everything in the hot dish line was nearly gone or had been sitting there for a long time. We heard a man complaining so they made him some fresh eggs. Of course we could have as well but the staff were so nice we did not bother just made do with a warm sausage and what was left of the creamed mushrooms.
The dining room had no atmosphere at all, just a bit of view at the end if you were lucky enough to get a table there.
We tried the restaurant for our evening meal and that was in the same room. We were aware that they are revamping Lava but they should try harder to make the smaller room more inviting. It was like eating in a suburban hall. The food was only o.k. My fish pie was strange indeed. I was aware that it came without pastry and that was fine with me. Mashed potato was mentioned so that was what I expected. The potato was like a paste on the bottom of the dish with a piece of fried fish draped over it and was swimming in just hot milk. It tasted o.k. but looked bland.
I would not say that the experience was awful we just expected better from a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a marina room it is hardly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsygirl342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay at for waterfront access and nice environment. Rooms are a bit small but comfortable. If you have an Accor card it is great value, but full price is rather steep for what you get,
The Lava restaurant is very good with a smallish but quality menu, great service. Once again the Card makes it extremely reasonable.
We took an upgrade to a marina view room but it was not worth the extra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Toilet blocked up each day - room started to smell like a 3 star hotel in India.
Eventually had to move rooms due to smell.
Internet was advertised as included in price, yet limit is exhausted very quickly with very low usage. Just a marketing trick.
Breakfast not set up on time.
Many requests for basic information not forthcoming.
Great location, meant to be 5 star......Very disappointing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DmacSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed in a Luxury Room for 3 nights. First impressions of the hotel were good - it's a low-rise hotel which provides a boutique hotel feel. The lobby is beautiful and the courtyard water feature is stunning - particularly when lit up in the evenings.

There was a small delay in checking in however a complimentary coffee and regular updates by staff was appreciated.

The room was a decent size in a "L" shaped layout. The shorter part of the L was a sitting area, wardrobe, bar fridge and sink (and a coffee machine that was far too advanced for me to operate - boy did i make a mess trying to froth the milk!!). At the other end of the L was the bed (large, very comfortable and difficult to get out of - in a good way!). The bathroom was a good size with Hermes products.

The room was surrounded by glass which made the view of the viaduct really pleasant. There are narrow balconies on two sides - large enough to stand but not really wide enough for a chair. Given the layout of the hotel (U-shaped) you can see into other rooms - but you would really have to be "looking" for it to be a problem.

There is a small exercise room (to call it a gym is a stretch) and a lap pool (i think around 10 metres long) with great views. No outdoor area so no relaxing on sun loungers is possible.

The staff a great - given the size of the hotel you get to remember faces and they remember you - a nice touch in this age of super-sized 5 star properties. They were able to provide good recommendations for things to do and see.

The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from central Auckland, but given its location on the harbour, it's a really nice walk along the marinas (and some beautiful boats to drool over) and just a short stroll to a vast choice of restaurants - which really are targeted at tourists (given some of the prices) but do offer something for everyone.

A restaurant recommendation I would make is Lava at the hotel. Not cheap, but the food is amazingly good presenting the best of local produce and wines - and the wines are very good. It looks perhaps too trendy but I can assure you the food triumphs over the design. Try it.

The hotel is in a nice quiet location, easy to get around and well worth spending a long weekend there. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urban3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a truly stunning hotel this is. It had been recommended by friends, but they couldn't express how great this place is. We are planning another night soon.

I would never stay anywhere else in Auckland after this great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank boom278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The service, staff and overall experience of staying at the Sofitel Viaduct Harbour Auckland was absolutely fabulous, we highly recommend dining in at Lava Restaurant - devine!! Quiet location within walking distance to to Auckland CBD. The room was lovely but the BED, oh my gosh, if you have problems with sleep or getting a great bed to sleep in whilst you are on holiday, you don't have to look any further then the Sofitel My Beds, they are amazing!! The only complaint that we have is we were sent an email via AccorHotels Le Club for 20% off Auckland Hotels and triple points and so we signed into our AccorHotel Le Club and the price already reflected the 20% discount so we booked unfortunately we were surprised later when we did not get triple points for our stay, when we rang and enquired regarding this matter my husband was told if you didn't use the link to book - you don't get the deal - COME ON ACCORHOTELS this is not great customer service!!! We booked using your website and logged in to our account, very disappointed with the way we've been treated, still waiting on a response from AccorHotels!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing