We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sofitel, Auckland.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Sofitel, Auckland.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Room spic & span, staff friendly & helpful, good food & wine at restaurant. Unfortunately, as experienced elsewhere, thick, hot doona on bed meant waking in the middle of the night as if in a sweaty sauna and spending the rest of the night on top. Easy walking distance to city and dock-side restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank rjentally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,706
    692
    213
    69
    33
See reviews for
359
1,589
133
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We started our New Zealand holiday with the Sofitel Group.

Impressed with the hotel quality and service we were offered. It has an excellent view of Sky tower and most of the places are near by.

Friendliness of the staff and food quality was good too.

Amazing memories !!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsbagga1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
203 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very pleased with the weekend I spent in the Sofitel in Auckland. The room was extremely roomy and comfortable. Food was generally very good. The staff were superb: charming, friendly and highly efficient. Location was very good.

The only minor drawback was that it *felt* expensive for what it was, although my friends in NZ assured me it wasn't really that expensive, it is just that the NZ dollar is very strong at the moment.

Will certainly stay there again if I go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhone_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Finishing up 2 weeks in New Zealand with 2 nights here and I may not want to leave. The service is top notch, the rooms are spacious with excellent linens. Location is close to restaurants and shopping. View of the harbor is worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingrhoderunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great stay at Sofitel, warm and professional welcome at the reception + escorted to the room. Room is large enough, huge windows overlooking the marina and offering lot of lights. Great room, all amenities you can expect from a 5 star hotel. Very clean also.
I had one diner at the Bar, get a glass of wine quickly but had to wait 25 minutes for a salad and a cheese plate. In the morning good quality of breakfast, just few things:
- I ordered tea when i seat but it cames very late, i was almost finished.
- After eaten fruits I stand up to go to the buffet help myself, when I came back the waiter (trainee) has already remove my cutlery and table cloth..
Fitness gym is really small.
IMy overall experience was great and staff is welcoming, I will go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NawakRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We finished our NZ holiday with 3 nights at the Sofitel. We were very impressed by the quality of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the service we received. The location was quiet and we had harbour (marina) views with an excellent view of the 'Skytower'. We walked everywhere, as everything was close, shops, restaurants, ferries etc.

We ate at the restaurant on 2 occasions and thoroughly enjoyed both meals. The food was excellent, as was the service. This was an excellent way to finish our holiday, relaxed and in great style. Fond memories indeed.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the harbour (marina) view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our room overlooked the harbour, and the view was exceptional especially at night with a view of the sky tower and the city lights.
Our room had everything you could possibly want. Unfortunately the spa was not working, but the pool was amazing.The cost was expensive, but well worth the experience.
I liken the occasion to a little taste of royalty for our entire stay.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the harbour is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBrown237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing