We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay at Sofitel, Viaduct Harbour, was fabulous! Our room was lovely - very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were fantastic; very friendly and helpful. Also, the location was perfect! A stroll away from the viaduct which has great restaurants, clubs and cafes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punamarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Z, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Bonjour Punamarly,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. We take great pride in both our facilities and the genuine service that our ambassadors provide, and it is a pleasure to be able to share such feedback with them. We loo forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Best regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,292 - 2,298 of 2,875 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here after a very long trip from Los Angeles on December 27th.

The positives:
- This hotel is beautiful and appears to be one of the newer hotels in the area
- One of the most beautiful lobbies I have ever seen
- Very convenient for a trip to the marina (we very much enjoyed our breakfast at Mecca)
- Extremely clean
- Wonderful large bathroom

The negatives:
- We had a room that faced a side street/bus depot, definitely not a great view and forced to keep our blinds closed. Make sure you request a marina view!
- Our king size bed appeared to be two twin beds pushed together and it had a very noticeable gap in the middle of the bed. Maybe there was supposed to be a spacer or extra layer to prevent it but falling in the gap in the middle of the night was not fun. Bed was very comfortable other than that though

As we were only there for a quick one night transit stay I can't comment too much on any of the other services but all in all I would recommend this hotel and stay here again only if I got one of the nice marina views.

Room Tip: Request a marina view on check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamedic91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
London, United Kingdom
2913
Reviewed January 21, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Megan Z, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wonderful hotel centrally located in Auckland city. So close to everything and awesome views of the harbour. Staff are fantastic - so well trained, informed and friendly. The food in the restaurant is world class, and it was just an incredible stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantDSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Z, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Bonjour GrantDSmith,

Thank you for posting your kind review and I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. Sofitel prides itself on excellent, personalised service and our French-inspired hospitality. One element of this is of course our cuisine, and our Executive Chef Scott Brown has put together a delicious and at times surprising menu for Lava Dining. This changes seasonally so I hope you will return to experience it many times over!

Best regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Great staff. Great service. I forgot my hard drive at front desk. Rang me back helped me get it. I ordered robes after hours and they got it for me with a smile. Five star service. Definitely coming back.The location is good as well with a host of dining options. Ideal

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rexjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Z, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Bonjour Rexjg,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. I am delighted to know that our team looked after you so well and will certainly share your feedback with them. We look forward to having you stay with us again very soon.

With best regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chick282
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Megan Z, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Firstly, we love the Sofitel brand and have had great experiences around the world. The staff are just superb and the quality of the hotels just can’t be beaten. This time, from our arrival late at night (11pm), our dealings with reception, a drink in the bar, breakfast in the restaurant and the goodbye process we can’t complain. We had a superior room overlooking the marina with the fixtures and fittings / amenities well up to the Sofitel standards. The Sofitel beds and bedding are simply the best and it’s the little extras they do which making staying so enjoyable. The only negative about this hotel (and it’s no different to when it was the Westin) is the slightly odd location away from the city and surrounded by apartments and commercial buildings. However, it’s a short walk to the city and having stayed in a standard room in the past (looking at the bus depot) I would always request a marina view room now. Being one of the most modern hotels in Auckland you can’t go wrong.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $210 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing