We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hats off to Sofitel, Auckland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Hats off to Sofitel, Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is a lovely place to stay in Central Auckland. From arrival to departure we were treated like VIP guests. We had booked a special Xmas Eve dinner from their supplied menu, but on arrival were informed that the Xmas menu was only available for Xmas day. Apologies were given and we were promised a complimentary bottle of champagne with our dinner that night. The champagne duly arrived at dinner, and it was superb - we were informed that it was made by the House of Bollinger. Yum yum.....
The room was clean and of course staying in a 5* hotel all the trimmings were there. A lovely way to spend Xmas Eve and I would certainly do it again. A really lovely, indulgent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erin_laban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,674
    687
    211
    69
    32
See reviews for
355
1,561
133
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've stayed at a few sofitels and it was a pleasure to see Wouter DeGraaf managing this one. I was immediately impressed by the concierge and reception staff, all of whom were attentive and impeccably attired. Helpful, intelligent and intuitive staff at the front of a hotel make or break it. This was some of the best front office service I have ever received.

Our room was adequate for our needs and nicely positioned in a quiet part of the hotel. Fittings and fixtures were absolutely clean, a real credit to the housekeeping department on level four.

The pool, gym and spa were excellently maintained and enjoyable to use. Overall the property presents beautifully, with chique little touches from top to bottom. We were thinking of staying at Hotel deBrett which also looked nice, but chose Sofitel because you know what you're getting. Their beds are the best and the whole French theming really adds a little romance to what would otherwise be just another five star innercity hotel.

The final point to note about Sofitel Auckland is its proximity to the water and the Viaduct. The best bars, restaurants and eateries were all only a stroll away. Walking around the marina and viewing the Americas Cup yachts was more enjoyable than I realised. The beautiful aqua Harbour of Auckland makes a really pleasant backdrop to whatever you're doing.

Must say we bought some enormous fresh oysters and scallops from the nearby Fishmarket and had them cooked there on site. Make sure you do the same, with a glass of local Pinot Gris you suddenly realise why Kiwis are the luckiest people on earth.

Room Tip: Visit their gym and pool area, it was pretty cool. Ask the Concierge for anything, they're happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offtopic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by professional, helpful staff. The room was spacious, immaculate, huge comfortable bed, large well-equipped bathroom - even a huge stand alone bath. We were given a voucher for two free drinks and a plate of handmade chocolates complimentary. Dinner was delicious and well-priced. The bread rolls and extra cream for dessert were free. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happydays12554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Thankyou for your hospitality, we booked accomodation at the Sofitel after our house was damaged in the Tornado & we were left with no power etc. It was a pleasant surprise when we arrived with our children (in only the clothes we were standing in) that we were not only upgraded, but that sweets etc were also provided for the kids, during this difficult time. Your courtesy was very much appreciated, and Sofitel remains our preferred Hotel of choice when we travel. Your water front location & room service food/ concierge, was of a very high standard, and although we are auckland residents, we would very much enjoy staying with you in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGreenauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,957 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing