We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,188)
Filter reviews
3,188 results
Traveler rating
2,045
784
240
80
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,045
784
240
80
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava restaurantmarina view roomluxury roomviaduct harbourbeautiful hotelrain showerturn down servicefloor to ceiling windowsnespresso machinewynyard quarternew zealandroom servicerestaurants and barsroom was largebed was very comfortablevalet parkingferry terminal
Filter
Updating list...
2,771 - 2,776 of 3,188 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Will definately be back. Rooms were spacious and well-appointed, staff superb and professional, Lava restaurant outstanding. Couldn't have chosen a better place to prepare for our wedding and unwind afterwards. Our experience was unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were very impressed by the high standards of service and facilities at the Sofitel in Auckland. We were met on arrival and personally shown to Reception while our bags were looked after. Checkin was easy and the directions to our room easy to follow. Our bags were promptly delivered to the room and carefully placed. All was seamless efficiency and courtesy. We were given a room upgrade which was a very nice touch too. The room was excellent with lots of space and great facilities. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom divine, with a large shower and deep tub to soak in. The room was also exceptionally quiet. Sabrage Bar is a lovely place to sit and enjoy a drink and the Lava restaurant was surperb with friendly and discreet service and wonderful food. The fitness center and pool were also very good. The staff were all friendly and willing to help. It is an easy walk to the city center, and being on the harbour, it was very pleasant wandering along admiring the yachts and motor cruisers. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Sofitel Auckland and are looking forward to staying again on our last night in New Zealand before we head home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidJo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Sofitel Auckland for 3 nights (15-18 sept) on our way back from Cook Islands. Auckland was our final honeymoon stopover and we wanted to stay in a nice and quiet hotel. We arrived around 5.30am at the hotel and the receptionist prompt checked us in and help us with our luggage. The room was spacious, comfortable and so quiettttttttttt. Does not look like you are in the city at all.
Staff are very friendly, from reception, restaurant and housekeeping. Cesar and the french concierge guy ( can not remember his name) were so helpful giving us good tips to get around the town. The swimming pool , gym and jacuzzi were more than welcome on our second day after a overnight flight, great leisure facilities. Breakfast was delicious , the only negative thing is the noise coming from the kitchen, quite loud. Get a table faw away from the kitchen. Room service was excelent; fast, fresh and good food. Before I forget, the bed was absolutely superb!!!
We will definitly stay at the Sofitel next time, we highly recommmend.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Z, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Bonjour Juliana B,

Thank you for posting your kind comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you were able to enjoy the restaurant and facilities in addition to our luxurious rooms. We take great pride in providing excellent, personalised service and it is always a pleasure to be able to recognise our ambassadors- your comments have been shared with Cesar, Boris and the rest of the team and were very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back very soon!

Kind regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pleasant interior & good location. However, we were VERY disappointed & wouldn't go back. Wireless Internet is pathetic & they have over complicated the whole login process & charge rediculous rates. No hot water one morning was no fun, albeit forgivable.. Reception not manned at night leaving you to buzz on the door intercom for several minutes. Breakfast was expensive & ordinary - half cooked hot cakes & watery poached eggs. Staff thought a cute French accent would fix anything but sadly they lacked ability to judge genuine problems (as small as they might be) & offer sensible, quick solutions. The bed was far too soft & the pillows = pathetic. Sorry, a major disappointment. (Also, the sauna wasn't operational).

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking water (otherwise you'll be looking at the Vodafone headquarters & they'll be able to watch you play 'hide the sausage')
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Z, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Mark J,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback. While I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your experience we always appreciate guest comments as it allows us to continuously improve.

I hope that you will accept my apologies for the problem with the hot water; this was a temporary problem and was fixed as quickly as possible but of course I understand that it is not a pleasant way to begin the day. We are aware as well that the internet signal in some areas of the hotel can be improved and we are working with the provider to get this done as soon as we can.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the feather topper which makes up part of the Sofitel MyBed. This is a Sofitel standard loved by many, however we are always happy to remove it if you prefer a firmer bed and can also provide different pillow options depending on your preference.

Mark J, all of your comments will be shared with our team and actions taken wherever required. Should you want to speak further about your experience please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location walking distance from the harbour.
The check in was quick and efficient, staff nice and helpful. Rooms are lovely and the bed is oh so amazing!!! You just never want to wake up, it's so comfy.
Now, some issues: they supposedly had a breakfast offer, 19 NZD instead of 29 if you show the coupon they gave you at check in. I did it, however the discount wasn't given (ok, it's my fault too, I just didn't bother to complain). The parking is a nightmare in the whole city, everywhere the parking is for 2 hours maximum, so you have no choice but to take the valet parking.
However, I would still recommend this hotel and would go back in a heartbeat!
Nice L'Occitane ameities in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legionella84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews