We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious with worlds most comfortable bed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is luxurious and stylish. The hotel lobby is glamourous creating the 5 star experience from the moment you enter. We stayed for the weekend in a luxury room over looking the mariner. The room was well appointed with a spacious feel. The bed was out of this world! It was so comfortable we are having to buy a feather and down topper for our own bed now. The room was clean with all the amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The Illy espresso machine was a wonderful surprise. One only needed to call the restaurant for complimentary fresh milk and it was delivered in minutes. The ability to open all the curtains and look out on the idyllic peaceful mariner while sipping on a freshly made espresso was priceless. Room service is a wonderful option if you are wanting to enjoy a cooked breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised when complimentary pastries accompanied by jam made in France were supplied. It made for a very enjoyable morning. Breakfast at the restaurant takes you by surprise. They do not offer a hot buffet, but do provide exquisite continental options like freshly made loaves of bread, poached fruit, Akaroa Salmon and cold meats, home made organic muesli and delightful smoothies, yoghurts and glasses of fresh fruit. The food seems under whelming at first, but once you sample it you realize it is of the highest quality and very fresh. If you want a cooked breakfast, they cook it for you, however it does cost extra. The staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem.
The location is great if you are wanting to experience the Viaduct Basin. We had dinner at Portifino Italian restaurant and walked back after. It only took about 15 minutes or less (in high heels!).
Our time at Sofitel meet every expectation and we would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are quiet and have a private balcony that over looks the mariner and sky tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompeii_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,536 - 2,542 of 2,915 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Made even better by a 3 for 2 deal, but would happily have paid full price.

Bed very comfortable. Room quiet. Bathroom excellent.

Restaurant good quality and breakfast cooked to order rather than buffet, so hot not tepid.

Gym and pool also good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I concur with previous reviews. Luxuriously appointed hotel in a very accessible location. Very clean hotel. Friendly staff and overall a lovely stay.
Unfortunately we could not find the Concierge when we would have appreciated some advice at various times throughout our three day stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloraWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Z, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Bonjour FloraWood,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful property in a great location and I am delighted that you were able to relax and enjoy it for a 3 day break.

Our friendly ambassadors will always be happy to assist however they can, with the Reception team and Duty Managers available to provide advice and make bookings if the Concierge has been called away. I hope that you will return soon to enjoy all that Auckland and Sofitel have to offer!

Kind regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Tauranga, New Zealand
33
Reviewed September 18, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Megan Z, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Greeted at the Door by Concierge. Guided to reception which was just as well because reception is not that obvious. Checking in was friendly and speedy then Concierge showed me to my room. Everything you would expect at a Sofitel. My Luxury Harbour View Room was very nice with the extras you come to expect from Sofitel. The Bed was very comfortable. Would recommend the Breakfast which we had off the A La Carte Menu and the food was very tasty and well presented. Would defintely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondePatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Classy, impressive, quality and style; all words that aptly describe this accommodation gem in Auckland, New Zealand.

Set in the ever so fashionable area of the Viaduct, the Sofitel is only months old but already bears the air of a sophisticated well run property that exudes class and quality!

Being Accor's top of the tree brand; the French flair is evident from the 'Bonjour' from the porter collecting bags from the hotel limousine service (thanks Tim!) and is carried through the staff including breakfast, front desk and more... it's a nice touch, and it's nice to have the international flavour too of the brand carry through to the guest also.

We had a VERY early arrival @ 5:00am (which I was able to sort out with a couple of emails before arrival - as was our airport pick up) and a great three and half day stay in the property and in and around Auckland.

We breakfasted each day and the menu and breakfasts were first rate with a variety of choice within the full, continental and ala cart menu allowing us to choose exactly what we liked (I recommend the pure apple juice, great coffee and eggs as you like them!).

We didn't make it to a dinner or lunch at the hotel restaurant, however I did read the menu and it is impressive and the one time we used room service, the food arrived beautifully presented and hot!

With advice from hotel staff we were able to easily locate many local restaurants in which to lunch and dine... it had been nine years since my last visit to this area and it's now a major metro social hub for Auckland and contains some GREAT eating places.

The hotel itself is modern and simplistic in design, but makes use of impressive features such as the stone from Mexico used in the signature Lava restaurant. Sure it's a typical steel and glass construction that fits into the Viaduct scene quite easily, with quiet but effective signage.

The lobby is very impressive, with water features and fresh flowers combining so well with the open space made busier during our holiday stay by the fact Fashion Week was in town with Christian Lacroix exhibiting in the hotel.

The rooms are spacious, the bedding luxurious and the bathrooms are big and well fitted with great baths and separate rain showers! Did I add the Marina views are through floor to ceiling windows, and there's a balcony, and a BOSE sound system.

The service is superb! We were helped by numerous people during out stay; no question too small, and advice given worked for us each time. Special mention to the Concierge, Kris, who arranged tours and information so well.

I guess the real test of a hotel is would I return. The answer is an easy YES and I'm already booked for my next stay; this time on business.

I highly recommend the property; the current rates are excellent; the service even better than that!

Vive le Sofitel Auckland!

Room Tip: Recommend the upgrade to a luxury room. Go for a room on the Viaduct side of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lodbord
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,368 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $219 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing