We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Viaduct luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    702
    216
    72
    34
See reviews for
364
1,622
138
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealandntral, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Greeted at the Door by Concierge. Guided to reception which was just as well because reception is not that obvious. Checking in was friendly and speedy then Concierge showed me to my room. Everything you would expect at a Sofitel. My Luxury Harbour View Room was very nice with the extras you come to expect from Sofitel. The Bed was very comfortable. Would recommend the Breakfast which we had off the A La Carte Menu and the food was very tasty and well presented. Would defintely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondePatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warriewood, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Classy, impressive, quality and style; all words that aptly describe this accommodation gem in Auckland, New Zealand.

Set in the ever so fashionable area of the Viaduct, the Sofitel is only months old but already bears the air of a sophisticated well run property that exudes class and quality!

Being Accor's top of the tree brand; the French flair is evident from the 'Bonjour' from the porter collecting bags from the hotel limousine service (thanks Tim!) and is carried through the staff including breakfast, front desk and more... it's a nice touch, and it's nice to have the international flavour too of the brand carry through to the guest also.

We had a VERY early arrival @ 5:00am (which I was able to sort out with a couple of emails before arrival - as was our airport pick up) and a great three and half day stay in the property and in and around Auckland.

We breakfasted each day and the menu and breakfasts were first rate with a variety of choice within the full, continental and ala cart menu allowing us to choose exactly what we liked (I recommend the pure apple juice, great coffee and eggs as you like them!).

We didn't make it to a dinner or lunch at the hotel restaurant, however I did read the menu and it is impressive and the one time we used room service, the food arrived beautifully presented and hot!

With advice from hotel staff we were able to easily locate many local restaurants in which to lunch and dine... it had been nine years since my last visit to this area and it's now a major metro social hub for Auckland and contains some GREAT eating places.

The hotel itself is modern and simplistic in design, but makes use of impressive features such as the stone from Mexico used in the signature Lava restaurant. Sure it's a typical steel and glass construction that fits into the Viaduct scene quite easily, with quiet but effective signage.

The lobby is very impressive, with water features and fresh flowers combining so well with the open space made busier during our holiday stay by the fact Fashion Week was in town with Christian Lacroix exhibiting in the hotel.

The rooms are spacious, the bedding luxurious and the bathrooms are big and well fitted with great baths and separate rain showers! Did I add the Marina views are through floor to ceiling windows, and there's a balcony, and a BOSE sound system.

The service is superb! We were helped by numerous people during out stay; no question too small, and advice given worked for us each time. Special mention to the Concierge, Kris, who arranged tours and information so well.

I guess the real test of a hotel is would I return. The answer is an easy YES and I'm already booked for my next stay; this time on business.

I highly recommend the property; the current rates are excellent; the service even better than that!

Vive le Sofitel Auckland!

Room Tip: Recommend the upgrade to a luxury room. Go for a room on the Viaduct side of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Not particularly anything to look at from the outside, but nevertheless this is a great hotel, with an understated air of refined quality and distinction. It is impeccably clean everywhere and everything if not brand new, looks and feels brand new. You get the same high standards of service and all mod cons that you always get with the brand. We stayed in a 'Luxury room with Marina View' which cost only slightly more than the regular King rooms etc and is well worth that little extra. Great view over Viaduct Harbour Marina, the view is essentially the whole length of the room with sliding glass doors with Juliet Balcony. The Bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was sparkling with deep bath and shower with multiple shower heads. simply cannot fault the place. It would be difficult to be better placed too, right on the marina and within spitting distance of the CBD and the Vibrant Viaduct Harbour nightlife and restaurants (literally 3 minutes walk so no need for a hire car or taxi's. If you are eating out and like seafood, we had a great dinner at 'Kermadec' on Viaduct Harbour Avenue and decent pint (or two) of Guinness & Kilkenny's with live music afterwards at Danny Doolans. In the morning after a good night out I can thoroughly recommend 'Jones the grocer' on custom street west for an excellent breakfast. We didnt have the Sofitel breakfast as while I am sure it would be a good breakfast we thought $37 per person was a bit excessive! Valet Parking (you kind of have to have it) and its an additional $35 per night.

The 'side order of pretentiousness' that I mention is the ridiculous idea of all hotel staff greeting you in French (Bonjour etc.) particularly as none of them speak French. I don't know if its a new thing but I have only come across it in NZ Sofitels - anyway annoying and potentially embarrassing for your staff if they actually address a French guest who in response would not be understood - please stop! Otherwise great hotel in an ideal tranquil location.

Room Tip: Go for the Marina View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItIsWotItIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Sofitel having chosen it from other reviews on Trip Advisor and we could not have been more impressed. As soon as our taxi pulled up at the hotel we were greeted by concierge who assisted us with our bags. Very impressive already! The hotel lobby is just amazing and reminded us of resort hotels in Thailand.
We specifically booked a junior suite to ensure we had a harbor view and it was worth paying that bit extra especially as we were staying for 3 nights. Other rooms in the hotel do face inwards and you end up looking straight into other rooms. The junior suite we stayed in was just perfect with a great view over Viaduct Harbour. The room was a good size and so was the fantastic bathroom. The room was also the cleanest hotel room we have seen for quite some time, we couldn't fault anything which was refreshing. A daily maid service and nightly turn down service with complementary bottle of water per person was also a nice touch.
We highly recommend the hotel bar, talk to the staff for some good local restaurant recommendations.
Overall we were so impressed with the Sofitel that we highly recommend anyone has a look when booking accommodation in Auckland. The hotel has only been operating since February-March 2012. We have not yet found a hotel of this quality or standard in Australia which is in a similar pricing bracket. Well done to the New Zealander's and to Sofitel for making our first visit so enjoyable!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing