We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auckland tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Sofitel is located in a quiet part of the Viaduct approximately 5-10 minutes walk from the major shopping and entertainment areas. Check-in was friendly if not somewhat labored and was shown to a very clean and comfortable marina facing room. Was very happy with this until I looked at the fire chart on the door and saw that it was considerably smaller than the room which I had booked, which billed itself as a larger luxury room. On pointing this out, I was changed to a much bigger corner room, though interestingly with no coffee machine. Wi fi internet in this room was significantly slower than the previous room, though problem solved when connected to hotels broadband cable in the room. An irritation, however is the inability to have more than one device connected to the internet at any given time (which is certainly an option in other hotels I have stayed in). Breakfast was good, though had a bonus of a large thin strip of plastic in my fresh orange on the second day, which had apparently broken free of the juicing machine. Staff were very apologetic and offered a complimentary glass of wine, had I stayed into the evening. Check-out was efficient though the late check out of 2.30pm was at a 75 NZD charge. Additionally the hotel wanted to add 1.5% credit card charge to my bill, which I refused to pay on the basis that I was not made aware of this in advance and indeed had never come across such practices anywhere worldwide before. I was informed that the rules within NZ had apparently changed in the last month which allowed the hotel to do this. The charge was waived for me in this case. Concierge services were great

Room Tip: Ask for a marina facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rjbrownmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,685 - 2,691 of 2,932 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

Formerly the Westin, this hotel now under the Sofitel brand and the service from the staff and the rooms are really excellent. Rooms are big, with separate seating area and small balcony overlooking the viaduct harbour and the bathroom is equally large with bath and separate shower cubicle. Location wise it's perfect for visiting the harbour area and no shortage of taxis to get around Auckland or to and from the airport. Perhaps the only minor issue was that the concierge was unable to lend us an umbrella as we had to walk to a meeting 15 minutes away and in typical Auckland fashion it was raining(!) - to be fair he was very apologetic and assured us it was stop raining very soon...which it did...so this particular concierge had talents far beyond making recommendations for dinner...a great stay, pity it was only for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Auckland
11
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed using a complimentary night that we had and paid for an upgrade to a luxury room with harbor and marina views. We had previously stayed in December when it was the former Lighter Quay. This time the restaurant and bar were up and running which made a huge difference. Dinner and breakfast were great. The room, location and service were excellent and our only comment was that this time we had a smaller room with a queen bed as opposed to last time when our room was considerably larger as was the bed. Air conditioning got very hot and stuffy and although we tried turning it down we ended up turning it off altogether durning the night. Now that this hotel is part of the Sofitel chain there are great improvements. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Arrival and reception was good, the room was large and nice, but no view of anything exciting which was disappointing for the cost of the room. Apparently you had to upgrade to get the views. The coffee machine was a nice touch except it didn't work but we were brought a coffee from the restaurant. The bed was very comfortable and we hoped we would get a great sleep except the room was so hot. There was a huge duvet on the bed which was stifling in the circumstances. The air conditioner only seemed to make the room hotter. We ended up opening the door on to our deck but we didn't feel that safe with our door wide open. Was nice but would think twice about going back for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doowah54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience at the Sofitel in Auckland. In fact i must say the best service i have ever experienced at an ACCOR hotel. Absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJGumby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We booked for a Saturday,Sunday night Mothers Day treat and to visit Degas to Dali. Very welcoming concierge, efficient and friendly book in and a lovely handwritten welcome message from the Assistant Manager in a beautiful spacious room with a view and sound of water. Every staff member treated us with the very best service. A Mothers Day treat of the best macaron was very much appreciated. We ate in the restaurant both nights and enjoyed the food and the excellent service. A feature of the Sofitel was the way we were treated by all staff and made to feel special. Our new special treat venue, we don't need to go the Melbourne or Sydney for Sofitel spoiling. This was our second visit to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Room Tip: If you love water sound and water views ask for one of the rooms above the water. They are quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonsRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
sydney
53
Reviewed May 16, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,389 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,582 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,821 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#15 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $209 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing