We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant new Sofitel on Auckland's Picturesque Viaduct”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I think the directions need to be corrected to get there from the southern motorway It told us to take the right hand lane it should be left lane then once down the bottom and turn left the first set of traffic lights should be second set to turn right It then said through the next intersection which should be at the next intersection turn right.We enjoyed our stay and thought it was great that we were greeted in french and everyone was very friendly.Theonly other comment was at dinner that night our table was not the best location when there were tables with no one sitting at them which would of been better

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Aside from the name change to the hotel, nothing significant has altered to align it to the Sofitel brand that I've grown accustomed to, from it's previous name of Westin. Yes, the bar and restaurant have opened up again, but the decor, rooms and bedding are the same. This is great tho, as the rain showers remain in the rooms and a definite bonus and the reason why we decided to re-visit the hotel. Rooms are still clean and crisp and definitely like the coffee machine touch.
Dining is non-existent, as the staff are not efficient and was running around like headless chooks. Breakfast orders were being misplaced, orders weren't delivered, no orders were taken, a lot of waiting was done on the three days that we were there. I'm not sure whether the staff were new or didn't know what they were doing, but it was a shambles. Breakfast was not 100% and upto the 5 star hotel standard that's expected. We were served with broken poached eggs and no apologies provided or an offer to return it. Complientary bread basket was served one day but not the remaining two days ofthe stay. Juices were not being replinished and we had to order juice and waited and waited. Both the food and staff in the dining area needs an extensive revamp.
Check-out was a waiting game as the Receptionist had to contact the kitchen toverify breakfast even though our booking included the full breakfast and that the bill should've been ready at 11:00AM - check-out time. Overall, the hotel is still great, but needs more work to bring it up to the Sofitel brand name that everyone knows, and will only recommend the hotel once the service has improved in the dining room and the check-in/out process.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1 Thank Tuaeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy R, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Tuaeu,

Thank you for your review and kind comments on the cleanliness of our rooms, the rain shower in the bathroom and personal coffee machine. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience in the restaurant and I would like to assure you that your comments have been shared with our team. At Sofitel we pride ourselves on the highest level of service and we appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with such valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour and I invite you to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.

Best regards,

Lucy Richardson
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing