We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Degustation - Incredible”
Review of cocoro

cocoro
Ranked #101 of 2,271 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: new restaurant
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Anniversary Degustation - Incredible”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

My partner took me to Cocoro as a surprise for our anniversary and I absolutely loved it. I wasn't sure what to expect for a Japanese degustation (not knowing Japanese food very well) but I loved it. We had the most incredible food that really melted in the mouth matched with perfect service. I loved all our courses and couldn't pick a favourite as they were all outstanding! No wonder it's a top Auckland restaurant! It deserves it's honour. I can't wait to go back and enjoy more of Cocoro's treats!

Helpful?
Thank mckje885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    23
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect japanese night out”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

It was lovely - fantastic service with great food. The degustation menu was great - a great explanation was given of each course as it arrived. I recommend you keep a copy of the menu throughout the service so can keep track of each course.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Flash Japanese”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Tucked away just a few side-streets off Ponsonby Road sits the best Japanese restauarant in Auckland. The interior is small with under-stated elegance. We had the the 8 course degustation which was superb. The salmon confit and the charcoal beef were the standouts. The service is precise and refined. It is hard to find a fault, but there was one. They served our second course first which meant they forgot about the first cousre. No worries, as soon as they realised, it was corrected within minutes with profuse apologies. The food was so delicious, we didn't care.

With Cocoro, you have to love Japanese food and sometimes very subtle clever flavours. It is not an in your face taste sensation like some European degustation meals (which sometimes try to shock rather than marry flavours). If you like clean subtle and clever food - it is a must try. These hard to please Wellingintonians left very happy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canddnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
436 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Outstanding Japanese Restaurant!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

• Located in Ponsonby, a nice and charming neighbourhood with many boutiques, bars and restaurants
• The restaurant is modern and tastefully decorated. Elegant atmosphere. Only the chairs are not so comfortable
• They have an excellent tasting menu, consisting of six to seven courses
• The food (Modern Japanese Cuisine) is on outstanding level: excellent Sushi, excellent Meat etc. – all dishes are really very tasteful and on very high quality. The chef is very talented, the dishes are creative but not too much and the combinations are very good
• Very friendly service (only minus point: unfortunately the English language skills level of the staff is not very good)
• Yes it is not very cheap but worth every cent, for me absolutely an excellent place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Modern Twist to Japanese Traditional”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We dined at Brown Street as we had a complimentary voucher due to winning a competition. We decided to take advantage of the degustation menu, and it was lovely.

The staff were extremely attentive and helpful. The menu - out of the courses my husband did not like two, but not everyone likes whitebait. And we both agreed the Roast Duck, which was supposedly slow roasted, was very chewy. I passed on mine, and when hubby doesn't eat what I leave - that is indicative. But other courses were lovely - and a particular surprise favourite was soy sauce flavoured icecream sitting on pannacotta for dessert.

The menu choices could only be summed up as a modern take on Japanese traditional - which is a welcome change.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneF3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cocoro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to cocoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing