We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“John knows his stuff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours

NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.40*
and up
Wineries Honey and Black Sand Beaches from Auckland
Ranked #1 of 32 Food & Drink in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: NZWINEPRO™ are wine industry professionals offering personal wine making tours and scenic adventures for discerning enthusiasts. Owner & guide John McFarlane is a fifth generation New Zealander and has worked in hospitality and tourism for over 27 years. With 15 years experience working directly in the industry, you'll be guided beyond the cellar door with morning and afternoon options, stunning wines to taste, magnificent coastal scenery/regional parks, honey producers, cheese factory tastings, olive oils and delicious New Zealand cuisine. See how wine is made with private guided behind the scenes winemaking facility tours at Villa Maria Estate or Kumeu River Wines. Door to door service to Auckland's very best wineries and vineyards. Destinations include Kumeu, Huapai, Waimauku, Muriwai, Piha, Matakana, & Waiheke Island.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“John knows his stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My Wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour with John. It was personable and he has a huge wealth of knowledge about the wine industry. This was a very laid back excursion and made for a great day out. It was wonderful to see the behind the scenes areas in vineyards and we enjoyed an amazing lunch at Beesonline where we enjoyed great service. We would both highly recommend this tour to anyone who shares a great love for wine.

We have travelled to many wine regions in the world and we felt we learnt more in our time with John in our own backyard than those abroad.

Thanks John a memorable experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BelindaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzwinebug, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your tour. I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and it worked out perfectly on the day. It's always fun taking out locals but with your job it made for interesting conversations about the many places you've traveled to. Thanks for your wonderful review and excellent endorsement. I hope you'll tell your co-workers and friends. I hope you'll like my NZWINEPRO Facebook page to stay in touch with news and special tours and deals. Once again thank you for your fantastic review, I really appreciate it. Best regards - John McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    8
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience mixed with an unforgettable wine tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I took this tour on October 11, 2013 after having debated which tour company in Auckland to choose from because there are quite a few. However, we chose this one in particular because it was recommended by the concierge at the Langham Hotel and because the length of time/price was appropriate and reasonable, when compared to the other tour operators. After having visited this year the Napa Valley-California, Chile, Mendoza-Argentina, Bourdeaux- France and La Rioja region of Spain for wine tours and tasting, I have to say that this by far was more attentive and personalized than the majority of the tours that we have taken.
The tour itself was amazing. John was very knowledgeable about wine,food, the region and basically answered every question that we had about New Zealand, wine etc. The length of time seemed appropriate (about half a day). The complimentary/included lunch was actually excellent and even during it, we were learning about local apiculture practices.

Overall, I must say that we were extremely lucky to experience such a great tour and next time we are in Auckland, New Zealand, we will definitely tour with John and NZWIinePro again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzwinebug, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks so much for your excellent review. It's great to be recommended by the Langham Hotel as they one of the best and biggest hotels in the city, and I take it as a great compliment that they recommend me first when it comes to scenic wine tours. I try my best to put as much as I can into each tour and at the same time make sure that it is a balance of wine, food and scenic attractions that aren't rushed. I take an interest in New Zealand's history, economy and current affairs because I know that people from overseas are curious about what makes this nation and its people tick. So I am so pleased that you felt it was a good tour and a good choice. Thanks for sharing your great feedback with others. I hope you'll join my NZWINEPRO Facebook page to stay in touch. Kindest regards - John McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
“Totally Unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

NZ Wine Pro was an amazing unexpected experience! We were able to see a lot more that we were initially told; a trip around Auckland, an immersion into wine making and a wonderful meal at the end followed by the best wines! I recommend to anyone that knows wine or antes to get to know more! Plus John is an excellent guide!
Pilli's

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarjPilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzwinebug, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi Marjori,

Thanks for your wonderful review. The Villa Maria Picnic is a great tour for people with limited time. I really appreciate your posting a photo and for your super endorsement of my business. I'm pleased the tour turned out to meet your best expectations. I hope you'll like the NZWINEPRO Facebook page to stay in touch. All the best - John McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent wine tasting tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I had a superb day on Waiheke Island! John was an excellent host! Would recommend his tours to anyone!! Great day!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Leanne, Thanks for your wonderful review. I'm happy you enjoyed your tour of Waiheke Island. It really is a great destination and the food and wine on the island really are very good. I thoroughly enjoyed my day with you both. It was so relaxing and you were both lots of fun. I hope you'll stay in touch by liking my NZWINEPRO facebook page . All the best - John McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This guy knows wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I booked this tour for myself and 7 other friends. I have to admit, I am no wine drinker but a few of the others are. In fact a few of us have been on wine tours before but never had as much fun, wine and information as this one! John really knows the wine process and it was really interesting even for those of us that are not that into wine. He did an excellent job, we tried so many wonderful wines and had so much fun with John. He went out of his way to show us few extra sites since we were only in town for a few days. I would recommend any of his tours to wine lovers and non wine lovers alike! We will definitely tour with him again next time we are in Auckland.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank soggydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Katie,

I'm so happy you enjoyed your tour. Your compliments make me so happy that everyone found it interesting. I'm lucky to have had such an interesting wine and hospitality career, it makes meeting people and sharing my wine interest very easy. I'm well aware that my love of wine isn't shared by everyone and that there will always be people that are relatively neutral, we are all quite unique. So the challenge is to help people see it in a light they may never have considered before so that they will have a greater appreciation of it, and they will be richer for the experience beyond drinking it. Thanks so much for your great review. Your group was great fun, and your review is just the icing on the cake which I really appreciate! I hope you will all like my NZWINEPRO Facebook page to stay in touch. Pass on my best regards to everyone. - John McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing