We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best guide since years!!”

NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$178.39*
and up
Piha and Karekare Rainforest Wine Tour from...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: NZWINEPRO™ Auckland Wine Tours twice awarded best wine tour in Australasia and 2017 Most Luxury Wine Tasting Experience by Apac Insider New Zealand Business awards. Owner & guide John McFarlane is a fifth generation New Zealander and has worked in hospitality and tourism for over 32 years. With 17 years experience working directly in the industry, you'll be guided beyond the cellar door with morning and afternoon options, stunning wines to taste, magnificent coastal scenery/regional parks, honey producers, cheese factory tastings, olive oils and delicious New Zealand cuisine. See how wine is made with private guided behind the scenes winemaking facility tours at Villa Maria Estate or Kumeu River Wines. Door to door service to Auckland's very best wineries and vineyards. Destinations include Kumeu, Waimauku, Muriwai, Piha, Karekare, Matakana, Waiheke Island and Villa Maria Estate.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had been with John the third time this year and he is simply the best we could found (Waiheke Island) : His ideas, friendliness and expertise is great, his flexibility - this time more than asked by us - is wonderful and his sense of humour great, thank you John! See you again in a not too far future, highly recommended by experienced travellers from Germany Manuel & Martin

2  Thank mundmmuc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hi Manuel and Martin, Thanks for your wonderful review. You're both 2 of my longest term clients and it's always exciting to hear from you. I love it when the Cunard Ships come to Auckland, they are like no other cruise ship in the world and it adds an extra sense of excitement and exhilaration to the day. That day for obvious reasons is one that I will never forget from the rocky start to the adaptions along the way and finally at the end the adventure of locating your glasses and getting them to the Queen Mary 2 before she departed. It was as usual a great adventure and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing you both and spending the day with you again. It was like seeing old friends and we both got some fantastic photos on a day that weather wise could only be described as a perfection. For my trip next year I plan to visit Germany if I can and it would be a thrill to visit you both. Thanks so much for your super review and kind words. Until next time Auf Wiedersehen. My best regards John McFarlane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"villa maria"
in 40 reviews
"thanks john"
in 38 reviews
"wine industry"
in 30 reviews
"black sand beaches"
in 43 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 35 reviews
"gannet colony"
in 32 reviews
"wine making process"
in 14 reviews
"kumeu river"
in 16 reviews
"cheese factory"
in 13 reviews
"new zealand"
in 147 reviews
"wine pro"
in 9 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 37 reviews
"amazing wine"
in 12 reviews
"nz wines"
in 15 reviews
"plume restaurant"
in 5 reviews
"superb lunch"
in 6 reviews
"sauvignon blanc"
in 10 reviews
Filter

337 - 341 of 521 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

My sister, her friend, myself and my 12yr old son joined John for the Matakana region wine tour
and it was the highlight of our trip to NZ. John was very informative, was well-known and well liked by all the businesses we called in to which made us feel like we received extra-special treatment
at every stop. He was also wonderful with my hormonal pre-teenage son who started off the trip with a bit of an attitude but before long due to John's kindness and patience was having just as much of a great time as the rest of us. We would highly recommend this tour and cant wait until we return to NZ to take the Villa Maria tour with John as we have heard so many wonderful reviews about it.

1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hi Joanne,

Thanks for your lovely review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your tour. I love it when clients I've taken out in the past contact me again and want to tour with me more than once. It worked out perfectly and the lunch as usual was delicious classic New Zealand fare. If you're going to try lamb then lamb rack is the way to go! Jack was easy going, I'm sure he felt a bit out numbered and most definitely out of his comfort zone. Maybe another male and a bit of a pat on the shoulder was all that was required. It's a difficult age and as you mention chemistry has a lot to do with it. He was good boy and was well behaved, and I'm glad he came with us. I hope next time you come to New Zealand we can go to somewhere else I visit and try some lovely New Zealand wine and food. Thanks so much for your kind endorsement and for sharing your feedback. Say hi to Jack. Best regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Myself and a friend had the pleasure of taking the Villa Maria winery tour. The tour as advertised would have been great with the visit to Cornwall Park, One Tree Hill, and the Villa Maria behind the scenes and wine tasting but we were exceptionally lucky that John also took the time to show us the coastal areas of Auckland which were stunning in the beautiful sunshine (Not bad after storms the night before). Highly recommend this tour and will definitely be using NZWinePro next time I'm back in Auckland.

3  Thank Kym H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hi Kym,

Thanks for your great review. It was a pleasure to take you to Villa Maria Estate that day. Given the atrocious weather that we had experienced for the few days prior to your tour it was without hesitation that I added on some harbour front highlights. On that day it really was a stunning one with clear air and lovely colours throughout the Hauraki Gulf. Sometimes I just want to share it because as you could see from my office location I get to see it everyday! I'm so pleased you enjoyed the views from One Tree Hill. In spring Cornwall Park with all the sheep and lambs is a beautiful place to visit. A slice of NZ in the middle of the city. And Villa Maria always do a good job, and when they are overwhelmed with clients they hand it over to me which is good for everyone. Thanks so much for your review and liking the NZWINEPRO Facebook page - it's a great way to stay in touch. All the best Kym. John McFarlane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great tour. Relaxed and informative without being pretentious. Great balance of tasting and sight seeing. Recommend this highly.

3  Thank kphi035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Hi Katrina,

Thanks for taking the time to write your kind review. The Muriwai Morning Wine Tour is a great way to try some great wine, as well as some special UMF honey whilst taking in the rural and coastal scenery that is so picturesque on the West Coast. It's perfect for people that have limited time, or wish to keep their afternoon free for a different activity. I hope you'll like the NZWINEPRO Facebook page to stay in touch. All the best. Kind regards John McFarlane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

John certainly had a vast knowledge of wine; I really do not know much about wine, but I do know the tastings were excellent. During the off season, we were about the only visitors at each winery stop, and they did not skimp on the offerings. We did come away with a few bottles for the return flight. We also tasted honey at the lunch stop -- Beesonline -- which was also one of the better meals we were served on our trip. Further, we went to a candy shop, and a cheese shop. Each had very nice products, and we did come away with treats for the evenings. We also saw a few incredible sites, including a colony of large sea birds - gannets, I think - that were beginning their mating rituals; this was pretty cool. While the offerings of each stop were just great, I am more of a technical person who would like to see some of the processes behind the preparation of the candy, cheese, wine. Granted, we were treated to a tour of one winery, but nothing was going on -- Obviously, we came at the wrong time of the year to experience actual workings of a winery. Bottom line, this was a very good tour, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to other visitors. FYI, we took the "West Coast Beaches & East Coast Bays" tour, which made for a very long day. I could probably have done with a half-day, but John did put together a very nice collection of sites and tastes.

2  Thank lwhitmandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hi Dana,

Thank you for your review. John McFarlane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours also viewed

 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing