We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Meals in a Casual Environment”
Review of Crystal Harbour Restaurant - CLOSED

Crystal Harbour Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $40
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Crystal Harbour Restaurant is the third in its chain to open up, with the first and second Restaurants being very reputable in Hong Kong. Now located at the viaduct Crystal Harbour can accommodate a a large number of clientale with a spacious dining room. Crystal Harbour combines great food, fine wine, and impeccable service for a unique dining experience each and everytime. With the art of cooking authentic Chinese Food using the best seasonal ingredients to produce the most delicate of flavours to stimulate and delight your taste buds. Come to Crystal Harbour for Yum Cha and eat mouth watering Dim Sum 7 days a weeks, whether it is for a fast lunch, office group lunch or even inviting your important guests, Crystal Harbour can cater for all needs.Visit and Like us on Facebook!!
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simple Meals in a Casual Environment”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Decent selection of the staples - meals were good, not too pricey for the views and easy to get into late week.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A respectable Yum Char”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Recently had yum char here on a Sunday for lunch and overall it was a good experience. There certainly wasn't a lack of food with platters and trolleys moving swiftly around the room. The food was good, and service was attentive and helpful. Pleasantly, it wasn't as hectic and chaotic as other Yum Char restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoppy_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunny Environment with Authentic Yum-Char”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been to this restaurant for yum-char a few times and the experiences were always pleasing. We like to go there late to avoid the lunchtime crowd and can always pick our table on the window side of the restaurant. Their dim-sum are one of the best in Auckland area and staff were usually helpful, with a few speaking limited English. But they were always willing to help. Food quality has been good and stable so far. They even allow one of our kids with food allergies to have her own food there. Not sure if it's the time we visited, the toilets were not clean though with the mess left behind after busy lunchtime. Overall we found this restaurant worth trying!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMakerX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We rate Crystal Harbour as one of the best places to eat Yum Cha ever. We have travelled a lot and always try and find Yum Cha to eat in each destination, including a lot of places in Asia. Happy to say that we always look forward to returning to NZ and having a weekend in Auckland so we can head back to this restaurant. The staff provide excellent service and once they get to know you, will always go out of their way to please. The dim sum is amazing. As other reviewers say, it is very fresh and so tasty. We have never had a bad plate of Dim Sum there - ever. My partner and kids love the roast duck. It is always one of our favourite things to do in Auckland.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FelicityJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weird experience, really really pushy staff”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

A weird and unsettling vibe, with an overly bossy loud manager and stressed staff. A new huge vast restaurant with only a handful of customers- now I know why.
We ordered from the menu, but were then immediately presented with yum-cha. I kept saying we ordered from the menu but they kept putting large plates of food we didn't want in front of us. When the tofu and vegetables dish I ordere arrived it was full of pork mince! My husband ordered a pork dish but the plate arrived and it was a plate of green beans. No mention of any beans on the menu! He let them know it was the wrong dish, this generated shouting and arguing in Chinese. The bean dish was returned to him and told it had pork mince in the beans and it was the right dish that he ordered. During the meal we were poured tea and told it was green tea, we assumed it was complementary as we didn't ask for it. But know!! A the end of the meal we were charge $3! But the oddest thing about the place was the crazy atmosphere the staff generated, I wasn't going to argue about being charged for the tea, I was just happy to get out of there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Harbour Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing