We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling Asian fusion on the fringes of Britomart”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Hanoi

Cafe Hanoi
Ranked #23 of 2,225 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Hanoi is a modern vietnamese eatery in the bustling Britomart precinct. Our dishes are inspired by the street food of Hanoi.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Bustling Asian fusion on the fringes of Britomart”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We turned up with no reservation and a packed restaurant, however the obliging maitre'd showed us to the small bar area where we were proptly looked after until a table was ready.
The Asian fusion food was of a high standard and the service was very good. The restaurant frequented by the trendy folk of Auckland is clearly a popular haunt and I would recommend making a reservation.
The restaurant also has a communal table with a view of the busy kitchen, which unfortunately was fully occupied. The restaurant is fairly small and the entrance inconspicuous but don't be fooled, the atmosphere is buzzy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanBTotteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    257
    75
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Expensive”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Waiter gave us a speech about the Restaurant, which kind of excited us. She said that the whole Idea behind Cafe Hanoi was the communal/family experience. We were expecting a fine spread!!!! what was served to us was a deep fried fillet of fish between three of us. The food was average and paltry at a somewhat costly price

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mot hai ba EAT”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Third visit and it keeps getting better. This is not a cheap eat amongst the Auckland asian food scene, but the quality of every aspect of the visit more than compensates.

Shaking Beef, summer rolls, whole crispy fish and best of all the pork and crab wontons ( my colleague and I ordered a second platter) were all amazing. If you love North Vietnamese cuisine and cannot get to Hanoi Itself for dinner tonight, go here.

Note no reservations and can get busy at the back end of the week but this is only to expected. Monday/Tuesday nights are recommended for a nice balance of atmosphere without hastled wait staff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Restaurants with the Asian based 'shared plates' theme seem to be the 'flavour' of the moment in Auckland. We have tried a good number of them, but keep coming back to Hanoi as our consistent favorite. Bit of a nuisance not being able to book, but they take your cell phone number, so you can go off to any of the bars reasonably close by and they will phone when your table becomes available. This is not for romantic dining, but the atmosphere has a good vibe, and the food is interesting and flavoursome. Agree with another diner that the green rice prawns were delicious. A great opportunity to go all out and try some different dishes. Of course, we ordered too many dishes, and it is not necessarily an inexpensive way to eat, as much as you would think 'sharing' plates should be. Definitely 'rate' it as a restaurant to put on your list if you haven't been.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markandsue-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Go here and have great food, great service and great cocktails”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel, and once you get past the boring entrance, inside is a den of loud voices, amazing smells, fantastic cocktails and just wonderful underplayed service. We sat at the Chefs Table in front of the pass by the kitchen, and watched the chefs prep the food. When we ate I genuinely thought I was in Vietnam. Beautiful. Go here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hanoi also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing