We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“descent food bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Hanoi

Cafe Hanoi
Ranked #23 of 2,227 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Hanoi is a modern vietnamese eatery in the bustling Britomart precinct. Our dishes are inspired by the street food of Hanoi.
Bucks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“descent food bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Good for a light bite if you love, I mean love spice as everything is spiced to the max, but no complaints, service was friendly and quality of good was good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigfeetpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    257
    75
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great service, ambience and the food was beautifully fresh and delicious.
We didn't book but we were seated immediately even though it was very busy. The service was quick but not rushed and the waiters and waitresses were hugely helpful and very informed of the dishes available. I have recommended it lots since.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Vietnamese in Britomart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great food and atmosphere. Fun place for groups or couples. Just returned from Vietnam and the food at Hanoi is a good representation of the good food you can get there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Creative spin on Vietnamese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Had a weekday lunch at Cafe Hanoi and was so impressed. We booked before going to ensure we got a table and on walking in, were greeted so warmly by the great staff there.

The menu is great! It was very difficult to choose what to eat so we ordered a few different tasting plates. And then ordered more as the food was fantastic, flavoursome and just a little different to your run of the mill cafe/restaurant. We left completely stuffed!

The staff know their menu and had great recommendations. Be adventurous, try the sago pudding. It's very, very good.

There were many more dishes I wanted to eat but couldn't possibly fit it in. I will definitely be back to experience more of their fabulous service and food.

Well done to the team at Cafe Hanoi.

Helpful?
Thank RaeJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb food, professional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Fantastic flavours, an excellent wine list and brilliant accommodating service. Last time we went we thought we'd easily get a table at 6pm on a Saturday, but there was a concert at Vector Arena, so the place was packed with pre-concert diners, with a 45 min wait for a table. We were two families with children, both from out of town and had been really looking forward to a repeat visit. On hearing this, they opened up the bar downstairs, brought us menus and served some of the dishes there until a table became available. The crispy tofu was the (collective) kids' first introduction to tofu and they devoured two plates. Not cheap, but well worth it for a great dining experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank EllieCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hanoi also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing