We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mission Bay Experience”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albans Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A short trip into the city if you wish but Mission Bay is such a nice place to relax and has plenty of quality restarants. Margaret and Geoff who own Albans are lovely and their accommodation and hospitality outstanding. Love my stays here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenMacpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I booked to stay here for two nights prior to,and at end of our tour of NZ in a rented camper van. Margaret and Geoff were only too happy for the van to be parked on the drive, and made us feel extremely welcome. The room was beautiful, comfortable, spotlessly clean and with a large comfortable bed. Geoff and Margaret have a vast amount of knowledge about touring NZ and were only too happy to help plan our itinery, outstanding hospitality and very much appreciated. Breakfast was great. Margaret and Geoff offered to keep some of our luggage whilst we were touring, due to the lack of space in the van. Way beyond what we expected but again appreciated...Cannot recommend this fantastic bed and breakfast highly enough..5 star treatment from 5 star hosts and 5 star accommodation.Great location,just a 10 minute walk from Mission bay beach, shops, cafes and bars..Thankyou We will be back .

Room Tip: Great location, Mission Bay a short walk away. All rooms large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed with Margaret & Geoff our first night on a two week trip. It was by far the best accomodation we had the whole trip; fabulous very clean house, large rooms, great beds, and extremely gracious hosts. The location is great, close to Kelly Tarlton's and Mission Bay shops, but very quiet. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful, Margaret even gave us a copy of her terrific muesli recipe.
Our party included a very mobile 86 year old, a 2 year old and an infant, and they took us all in stride; staying at the Albans felt like staying with old friends. When we left we forgot a sippy cup and the Albans brought it to our car which was very sweet.
We highly recommend the Albans B&B and look forward to visiting again on our next trip to NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had 11 stays in n z all from the excellent Charming Places directory except this one which was reccommended by another place which was full. Turned out to be a great loction to stay - close to central Auckland and in a quiet place close to the shops and restaurants in Mission Bay. Very happy to reccommend - excellent welcoming hosts and impeccably clean and comfortable
Richard + Diana Morris and Olga Cannan. UK

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6xb42long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I booked to stay at this B & B the night before Around the Bays to save a long drive. The house is beautiful and spotlessly clean. The bed is extremely comfortable and everything you need is there....and more.
Margaret was fantastic to me. She even provided safety pins to pin on my race number (over and above the call of duty I would say). They even offered to drop me to the start of the race.
I would thoroughly recommend this quiet haven in Mission Bay

Room Tip: There were three rooms available. I suggest you choose by whether you want sun in the afternoon. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebHnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

February 2013, my fiancé and I had the pleasure of staying with Margaret and Geoff at their beautiful home in Mission Bay, Auckland. The breakfast was delightful, with Tea's coffees, fresh juices, fruits, yoghurts and homemade muesli, definitely a highlight (Margaret will cook you a proper NZ bacon&eggs, if you fancy it - I highly recommend). The relaxed atmosphere is attributable to their great nature, up for a conversation, they will happily recommend sights to see NZ over - we found their advice invaluable!
The rooms are clean, well kept and very comfortable. The bathroom facilities are fantastic, brilliant shower! There are internet / phone facilities on hand if need be also.
For little extra cost, Geoff kindly dropped us at the airport - a great added service.
All in all, a very memorable trip, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night only on a trip through Auckland, but we would not hesitate to stay again. Margaret and Geoff were very hospitable, relaxed and basically we felt very at home in their beautiful house (wish our house was like this!). They both helped us with our onward travel plans and let us use their office for Internet and local calls, and were very helpful in recommending good places to visit. Geoff also gave us a lift into town to pick up our hire car. Mission Bay is a lovely suburb of Auckland, right on the water with lots of bars and restaurants to choose from. So if you want to stay a short walk from the centre of Mission Bay (10 minute drive from the centre of Auckland) and want a great sleep in a clean b&b, then do not hesitate to book! Thanks Geoff and Margaret for everything.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flossup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
726 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,980 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,622 reviews
3.8 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albans Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albans Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Palmer Crescent | Mission Bay, Auckland Central, Auckland 1071, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Albans Bed And Breakfast Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing