We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, great location, excellent service - what more could you want?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Foodstore

The Foodstore
Ranked #197 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great location, excellent service - what more could you want?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I recently dined at The Foodstore with a number of very good clients. I was a little worried about the name "Foodstore" - but don't be put off, this is no cheap takeaway joint, this is a first class restaurant. It was so good that most of us went back the following night! You can't say better than that can you?! The food was 5 star and service was excellent. Everything was very fresh and perfectly cooked, from seafood to steak, everyone was happy. I was particularly happy as Bluff Oysters were in season and I miss them terribly (now living in Melbourne). They were incredible! This restaurant is set around an open fully operating kitchen for all to see, and to top it off there are large flat screen TV's on the walls showing your meal being prepared live. To me this says they are very proud of their food and high standards, and deservedly so. The only negative, and my reason for just 4 stars (I would score it 4.9 if possible) is that the open kitchen unfortunately heats up the dining area and makes it very stuffy. On our second night we asked if the bi-fold doors could be opened, they could and were and the environment instantly became cooler and very pleasant. I think they should consider doing this every night. It is something that would out me off in the hight of summer. Overall though a wonderful experience. I should mention too that on the 2nd night it was one of my customers birthday so we started ordering shots from the bar, we were requesting all sorts of concoctions and impressively the bar staff were up to every one of them! Now what you would expect from a classy place like this. Well done!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luapdrareve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    91
    39
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having flown into Auckland from Wellington in the morning, and having had to wait a while for our hotel room to be ready, so that we could change to clothes more appropriate for the Auckland weather, we were pretty hungry when we tried to make our selection from the large number of restaurants in the Viaduct Marina area. Although it was getting late for lunch, The Foodstore was still pretty full, and had a pleasant relaxed look to it, so we made our choice - we weren't disappointed. They are in a great location - have an equally great menu, a good selection of wine, and, certainly for us, the food and service were excellent - our server was very welcoming, helpful and informative in recommending food and drink (both beer and wine) choices. We enjoyed a very pleasant and relaxed lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paradox98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing meal, fantastic night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Food was just amazing - so much so that some of our guys ordered the bluff oysters for desert after having as their entree! We arrived early for our booking and while the tables weren't full we were moved to the bar for 20mins. After we were seated we ordered some beautiful nz wine and our meals which were all amazing. Service was not the best I have received, but not terrible! From my observation one extra waiter/waitress would have fixed this so we didn't feel as though w had to ask for refills / more drinks. Would go back again for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S0phsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty food, would go again - perfect for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here and really enjoyed the food. The menu changes with the season and we liked that almost every dish was available as a starter or a main which gave heaps of options. Service was ok, not stand out. The food arrived almost too quickly so the evening was over a bit too quickly. But overall a good experience and we will come back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mande2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Top drawer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Dined here with 4 friends before heading back to the UK, we had no reservation but were made to feel very welcome by the staff and enjoyed a drink at the bar whilst our table was prepared.

Love the fact that most meals can be ordered as either a starter or a main course as it made choosing slightly easier as the menu is amazing. We certainly weren't disappointed when the meals arrived (I have never seen so much food envy around a table!!) and had a very pleasent drop of Pinot Noir to accompany our meals.

Staff were very helpful and knowledgable and made the experience all the more enjoyable

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UncleSanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foodstore also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Foodstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing