We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brewed To Perfection”
Review of Union Post House

Union Post House
Ranked #857 of 2,311 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brewed To Perfection”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A cold autumn day encouraged to come into this place for the first time. We had often passed it by but never ventured in.

The large main dining / bar area with high ceiling studs and warm fire was very enticing. There are two outisde areas which are ideal in Summer.

Although the two staff were very busy, our needs were attended to promptly and with warmth the same as the room. Food arrived promptly and, like beverages, was reasonably priced.

Would we go back there again? You bet. This place is a gem with a huge heart. Staff care about their clients and make clients feel very warm after the outside cold. They definately know how to brew to perfection.

Anna and David R
Auckland

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    28
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great scene!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place is just up the road from where I live, so I come here quite often for a drink. On the month of your birthday if signed up to the loyal club, they send you a $30 voucher via txt. I used mine for lunch on my birthday with my partner and thoroughly enjoyed the salmon pizza and chunky fries we shared. the food is great, large portioned, and the service was quick. The manager who served us wasn't the most approachable but he was okay and made sure we were happy with the food. Definitely worth signing up to the club, as they send you occasional free drink vouchers via txt and you can get points to spend on your eftpos card when you sign it up online, rather than carrying around another loyalty card.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and very reliable”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A bit of a local and came here for lunch recently. Started with a beautiful bruschetta - nice balance of cheese, tomato and salad bits with a balsamic drizzle. For my main I had a tiger prawn pizza with chilli sauce - good size portion but I couldn't quite get through it all. My dining companion had the chicken burger which was huge and she couldn't get through it (was happy to finish it off for dinner!). Also very good coffee here. Highly recommend dining here or just meeting for a drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joandgazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is really good to come for a drink after a long day (or week) at work, but is also great for lunch or dinner. The portions are HUGE and the food is really good; the drinks are great and the staff are lovely :) A nice local pub to have, with a great atmosphere and music choice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Steak”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We went for Lunch on Sunday, my partner loves the steak here and was very happy with his meal, I had the lamb burger and it looks really good, the fries were great nice and chunky but the minced lamb pattie was bland and very dry, so it was a little dissappointing I was expecting more given the price of a burger is 23.00. The waitress was friendly and the wait for food was not too long. The wait at the bar was a different story the place was quite full and only one bar staff on ment a bit of a wait to get served.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Post House also viewed

 
Ellerslie, Auckland Region
Ellerslie, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Union Post House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing