We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service”
Review of DeBretts Kitchen

DeBretts Kitchen
Ranked #72 of 2,329 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The iconic Hotel DeBrett is nestled in the heart of Auckland city, at the crossroads of Shortland Street’s business and High Street’s fashion precincts, just two short blocks from the waterfront.Our 25 rooms and suites are individually decorated in a mid-century modern style, show-casing contemporary New Zealand arts and crafts, overlaid with 21st century comforts. At the core of the hotel we have created a glass roofed atrium and courtyard, which provide ambient meeting spots for guests and visitors, with a casual gourmet restaurant “kitchen” at one end, and the legendary art deco “House Bar” at the other. Tucked off to the side, exclusively for house guests, is a drawing room stocked with a selection of our own art, books, music and movies. Experience a mix of calm and bustle in central Auckland, and share our special home away from home, with personal yet professional service. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel DeBrett.
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

my wife and i enjoyed the experinace of eating at this restaurant so much that we ate here twice in our three days in Auckland, teh food was very tasty, and teh service was very good, there was little or no atmosphere in the attached bar

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    72
    22
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Valentine dinner”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Always a concern when booking such an evening as they have proved a disappointment in the past.

WRONG WITH De BRETT!

The atmosphere with background music was excellent.

This was matched by the very attentive service throughout the five course meal of excellent standard and presentation.

Simply an excellent meal and stay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We actually ate here twice because we had a very good meal on our first visit and decided to revisit it on our last night after a month long trip because it was conveniently located in our hotel. The menu is limited, but everything that we tried was very good. Portions are small and might be too small for some appetites. As noted before me, the restaurant can be noisy.....not so much the first night, but there was a big group in an annexed room to the restaurant and they created quite a bit of noise, on our second visit. . This sounds petty, but they give you one small roll per person, which are homemade and very good, but never ever ask if you might like another......you almost get the feeling that everything is weighed and measured. All in all, obviously we were happy enough to go twice:) so I think they are worth a try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exquisite food in amazing setting”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a dinner at Kitchen Restaurant before a concert. The restaurant is partly set in a double story atrium which provides an atmospheric setting. The decor is colorful and interesting.
Our food was perfect and could not be faulted. The blend of flavours brought the most out of the dishes. Staff were attentive but not intrusive.
We would happily dine here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraceyT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Well designed restaurant”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

When you enter the restaurant via Hotel de Brett it feels like a culture shock. From the old style of the hotel into the modern world of the restaurant. Both the chairs and the lighting are very special. Luckely not only the design is good also the food is very good. Beautiful dishes on the plate that tasted excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nc0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeBretts Kitchen also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to DeBretts Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing