We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinosaurs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Butterfly Creek

Butterfly Creek
Ranked #36 of 264 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Butterfly Creek has a unique collection of animals, insects and critters. It has brought the worlds most aggresive predator the Australian Crocodile to New Zealand,(2 Giant Salt Water Crocodiles) Alligators, Tropical Aquaria, full Petting Zoo & established a breeding program for endangered Giant Wetapunga and has Australasia`s premier Butterfly House with up to 700 butterflies. New in 2014 is the fantastic Dinosaur Kingdom - a world of real life sized dinosaurs to glare at! A fantastic family day out all year round with all weather undercover attractions & cafe. There is something for the whole family!Plus - Complementary shuttle to & from the airport for those visiting the attractions - just arrive at the airport and visit the iSite information centre and ask them to call you a shuttle.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
433 reviews
264 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Dinosaurs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Okay, this place is called Butterfly Creek but really, the best part is the area called Dinosaur Kingdom. A hell of a lot of work has gone into this attraction. A large number of life-size and life-like dinosaurs, a lot of which move and roar. I thought this was really cool!
The butterfly house was very good. Better than Kuranda in Queensland I thought - not as many butterflies but that was actually a good thing and it is completely flat and very child and wheelchair friendly. At 11am the butterflies were very active but at 2pm they were a bit more docile, which is great if you want them landing on you.
A couple of inactive crocs, and I'm not a fan of tamarins and other such creatures in cages, but that was the only down side of the place. The farm area was cool - lots of goats wandering around and easy to pat all the animals that wanted patting. The train ride through the dinosaurs was pretty good too, as was the impressive range of tarantulas and the aquarium.
We had no issues bringing in our own lunch and eating it there.
We went with our 2 year old so no charge for him. So for $30 each we got entry to the full park plus a train ride. Not cheap - but then the running costs of the place are certainly not low. Compared to other animal attractions in NZ and Australia, not bad value at all. My wife and I loved it and so did our (almost 3 year old) son. Afterwards, you can go a few minutes down the road and park at one of the plane-spotting areas as it is right opposite Auckland Airport.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillongroup, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate the great feedback and the fact that you appreciate our large running costs! We hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    169
    55
    24
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Absolute Rip Off...Better to go to the Auckland Zoo...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Firstly $73 for 2 adults a child & toddler I found to be way over priced. Yes we missed the sign at the front that said no food to be brought in. Then we were approached by a staff member who was not happy that a muesli bar and mandarin were being eaten by my grandsons...What annoyed me the most is, I was prepared to buy my grandsons something from the cafe but seriously $10 for nuggets & fries I don't think so. Very few animals to see for the price as compared with the zoo. Really disappointing...It only cost $56 for admission for all of us to the zoo and we were aloud a packed lunch...We also indulged at the cafe at the Auckland Zoo because it was affordable...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank faith4wd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillongroup, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi there, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you feel this way. Butterfly Creek is different to the zoo, it is much smaller with different animals, a full day is not needed to visit us. Our focus is not large animals with a lot of land area, so unfortunately we are restricted to a smaller dining area. During busy times we have to reserve the cafe area and tables for our cafe patrons. $10 for a drink, fries and nuggets is not an expensive combo, it is a pretty standard affordable option. Imagine if you did buy food then you couldn't find a table to eat and saw people with packed lunches taking up the tables, you would be annoyed wouldn't you? All the signage, rules, pricing and exhibits are listed on the website so perhaps a bit of research before you visit an attraction is in need next time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Expensive and very few animals”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Took my 2yo grandson to Butterfly Creek, particularly for the animals. There were really only a lot of rabbits and goats a couple of sheep, pigs and lama's. Really disappointed that there weren't any real cows, just some plastic ones. Not worth the money. He had more fun at the plane viewing platform just a bit further down the road and that was free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank namel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillongroup, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your review. Our farmyard animals include goats, rabbits, guinea pigs, wallaby, chinchilla, baby goats, alpacas, sheep, mice, chickens, roosters, a brand new aviary, a dog, cuckatoo, pigs and lorikeets, they are out every day so I am not sure how you missed them. We also do three daily encounters in the farm. Butterfly Creek is forever expanding and with the new addition of Dinosaur Kingdom, we cannot bring in any more animals that require pasture otherwise they will have no where to roam or grass to eat which would be unfair. We hope that explains your concern thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Butterflies, tamarins, alligators & dragons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

At $73 for 2 adults, a child & a senior, we thought it a little over-priced for what we saw. The butterflies are amazing, but there weren't many on show the day we went. We loved having them land on us though. The little birds (quail?) are cute, as are the turtles. Alligators are awesome, but not active enough for young kids. The tamarins were probably the most interesting display and had us laughing at their antics. Close to the airport if you have time to kill between flights, and right next to the mini golf and Rocket Ropes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tribe_Mooresy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillongroup, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We agree the crocs and alligators are not as exciting for the younger children, we try to make it interesting for everyone though :) Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Even better with the dinosaurs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Even though we went on a half rainy half sunny day, Butterfly Creek delighted us and the kids. There was plenty to do indoors (butterflies and crocs) and outdoors when the sun pierced the clouds. The newly opened dinosaur exhibit feels life-like to the kids (and can be scary too) and holds enough entertainment that adults don't get bored. The farm animals are a nice attraction to feed and pet even for people who already live on a farm.
The food is very good too. The seafood chowder is tasty and the portion copious and the kids meals were devoured.
Altogether, Butterfly Creek is a wonderful attraction we keep returning to and that gets better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Green4Good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillongroup, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are delighted to hear this. We hope to see you again soon, and if you visit more than 3 times a year the yearly pass is worth getting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Creek also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Butterfly Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing