We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughters Birthday”
Review of Butterfly Creek

Butterfly Creek
Ranked #35 of 271 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Butterfly Creek has a unique collection of animals, insects and critters. It has brought the worlds most aggresive predator the Australian Crocodile to New Zealand,(2 Giant Salt Water Crocodiles) Alligators, Tropical Aquaria, full Petting Zoo & established a breeding program for endangered Giant Wetapunga and has Australasia`s premier Butterfly House with up to 700 butterflies. New in 2014 is the fantastic Dinosaur Kingdom - a world of real life sized dinosaurs to glare at! A fantastic family day out all year round with all weather undercover attractions & cafe. There is something for the whole family!Plus - Complementary shuttle to & from the airport for those visiting the attractions - just arrive at the airport and visit the iSite information centre and ask them to call you a shuttle.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
“Daughters Birthday”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had an awesome time and found the service and people to be very good. We will go again and have another birthday there

Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    175
    60
    26
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Butterfly House one of the best”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a great place for kids and adults. There is a very goos array of butterflies on display apart from the other attractions and the cafe is quite adequate.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Safe Scardcat”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

having been to butterfly houses atound the world I was disapointed at the few varieties to be seen however it nay have been the wrong season

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Butterfly Creek - awewsome!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We visitied on a Monday & were expecting a quiet day but they had 2 groups in - one lot were oldies the othe a small class group. There is heaps of parking & good gift shop, huge dining area & plenty of meal options from snacks & cakes through to fully cooked hot meals. We arrived about half before croc feeding which they do twice daily. We didn't really know what to expect but were amazed at the facility & environment. From the road & carpark it's all unassuming & looks small but once you're in, it all opens up. We started off in an aquarium walkway ending up in a butterfly enclosure, all enclosed & you walk through the butterflies home which was humid & lovely. We went through the croc feeding area & was surprised by the size of their croc (& more are arriving) he was not small! We then went onto being able to pat a baby croc & then into an area dedicated to creepy crawly things. There is also a farm area & a small train which takes you around the area and operates all day. There is also a kids play area really well set out & heaps of picnic tables. We were really impressed & the gift shop was a great place to grab couple of momentos. We spent nearly 4 hrs & had ot leave but didn't get around everything & considering we had a 2 yr old with us we were surprised but he loved it all. thought this was reasonable priced also considering the price of going to the zoo & would choose to go again before the zoo.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not just Butterflies”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I went to Butterfly Creek, on the way to the airport, we were picking up a friend from a flight, and we arrived early, so we had time to see the butterflies, we heard that they serve good coffee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Creek also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Butterfly Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing