We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time and money”
Review of Butterfly Creek

Butterfly Creek
Ranked #36 of 271 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Butterfly Creek has a unique collection of animals, insects and critters. It has brought the worlds most aggresive predator the Australian Crocodile to New Zealand,(2 Giant Salt Water Crocodiles) Alligators, Tropical Aquaria, full Petting Zoo & established a breeding program for endangered Giant Wetapunga and has Australasia`s premier Butterfly House with up to 700 butterflies. New in 2014 is the fantastic Dinosaur Kingdom - a world of real life sized dinosaurs to glare at! A fantastic family day out all year round with all weather undercover attractions & cafe. There is something for the whole family!Plus - Complementary shuttle to & from the airport for those visiting the attractions - just arrive at the airport and visit the iSite information centre and ask them to call you a shuttle.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time and money”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a couple of hours to fill in on Sunday and thought we'd visit butterfly creek, what with living in Auckland and never having visited. What a huge disappointment. It is a case of search for the butterflies, there are 2 crocodiles in tiny enclosures and there is a farm area where children can feed animals. We came away totally disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Thank gipsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katycroc, Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hi there, thanks so much for your feedback. There are always approximately 800 butterflies in the butterfly house. As per our signage, on dim days their activity levels drop and they aren’t constantly in flight - this is their natural behaviour. If you pop back in a wee while after they are quiet there is every chance they up and fly again. It also appears that you’ve only mentioned 2 sections of the attractions and it appears you have missed the 6 baby crocodiles (and fantastic up-close encounter), the Alligators, Bearded Dragons, Water Dragon, Tarantula & range of creepy crawlies and the full tropical aquaria and you will struggle to get any closer to giant crocs anywhere. It is a pity that you weren’t able to approach one of our staff or someone in our shop on the day to talk about your experience – we are sure that we would have taken the time to listen & make your day! Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review & if you have any further feedback that could help, please do not hesitate to email me katy@butterflycreek.co.nz - we take all feedback on board to provide the best experience for future customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little small but not bad for NZ standards”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

More suitable for smaller children under 9 yrs old. We liked the crocodile shows best. Don't expect a full day outing, its rather a few hours as it is a fairly small complex. Food for sale was average and over priced.

Thank Change777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Butterfly Creek (or if you like Flutterbuys.”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Being in amongst the tropical butterflies is a great experience. The kids (in our case grandkids) especially love it as they stand there and wait for the butterflies to land on them. The kids also love it when the misty water is turned on. Yes they get very wet, but in the hot, humid temperature in there, what the heck!! :-)

Visited February 2012
Thank Lengra46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

good day for kids excitting whole day for children

Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it here”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

A fantastic family day out, it's well worth a visit, there is something for everyone here.

Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Creek also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region

Been to Butterfly Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing