We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great day out with an expert,considerate host”

Auckland Fine Wine & Food Tours
Ranked #3 of 33 Food & Drink in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Auckland's original boutique food & wine tours. Phil Parker is a fourth generation New Zealander, wine writer and food fan who started Fine Wine Tours in 2000. Phil's tours skilfully combine ravishing countryside sightseeing with premium food and wine experiences in Auckland. As your personal guide, Phil assures you of a highly memorable and enjoyable fun time - going behind the scenes of Auckland's premium wine regions and exclusive food outlets. With tours starting at $NZ199 for a half day, there are also full day options covering three wine regions in greater Auckland, plus a full day Food & Wine Lovers' tour. All tours include lunch, complimentary mineral water and information pack.Contact Phil now - for the NZ food and wine experience of a lifetime!
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great day out with an expert,considerate host”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A wet day did nothing to spoil the day, from the time I was picked up to the time I was dropped off Phil was the perfect host, clearly knowledgable about both his city and fine wine and this showed throughout the day.
At the wineries we visited I was treated more as a guest rather than " just another person on a wine tasting tour" indeed at one vineyard it was pointed out to me that I should consider purchasing their wine through my local outlet rather than having to carry it back to Wellington.
Black sands were fascinating, majestic loneliness, Luch was excellent and not hurried, all in all an excellent day and one which i will repeat when next I visit Auckland. Thanks Phil. John

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    34
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“detailed and personable”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Phil was a great host - provided us with the knowledge we were looking for as well as a wide range of wines. Saw some beautiful scenery along the way, as well as seeing the gorgeous wineries themselves. Lots of good background information was provided, and the plate of cheese and crackers was a great add-on. Definitely recommend!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous day out even for locals”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We did the Kumeu Big Day Out tour - five vineyards, lunch, honey, and a trip out to the black sand beaches and the gannet colony.

We are locals - we live less than 10km from this area - yet Phil showed us hidden corners, wineries, and views we had never found before. He has a great relationship with the wineries he includes on this tour, and we were treated like honoured guests even though we clearly weren't high-spending overseas tourists.

Phil knows wine and loves wine and he introduced us to some lovely bottles. We would recommend this tour to visitors and locals alike.

Helpful?
Thank YetAnotherWorkTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“àmazing!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Phil was a great host on our food and.wine tour. We picked up some amazing wine we cant wait to.get home and drink while.thinking of NZL. Highly recommend!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MNtravelers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine tour!”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My friend and I went on this tour in December and thoroughly enjoyed it. Phil is an excellent tour guide and knows so much about winegrowing in NZ. The tour includes a delicious lunch at a local cafe and a scenic drive to Muriwai Beach, as well as tastings at 3 or 4 well known wineries. A great trip for anyone wanting to know more about NZ wine, even if you are locals like we re! Highly recommended.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auckland Fine Wine & Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Auckland Fine Wine & Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing