We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Mexican food I have tasted” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Mexico Cantina & tequila Bar

Little Mexico Cantina & tequila Bar
Ranked #53 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best Mexican food I have tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We happened upon the LIttle Mexico Cantina and tequila bar last Saturday. The food was absolutely great. The waitresses were excellent and attentive. I am looking forward to many more visits there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanieh910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    76
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Mexican food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

On a recent trip to Auckland, my wife and I discovered the Little Mexico restaurant and have since returned for numerous meals. The décor and atmosphere are both authentic. We found the staff to be polite and friendly and their service impeccable. The menu is limited to a small number of traditional dishes, but we have found them all to be full of flavour, very filling and reasonably priced. Don’t shy away from the spicy option; the spices add to the flavour without overpowering it. We didn’t try the Tequila cocktails, but they certainly look very impressive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Very tasty food and good service. Atmosphere great, themed furnishings and music. Would go again am sure I would enjoy the whole menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sagreatdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was a great little restaurant in the Central Business District. Nice, friendly staff! Highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdventureSeeker12822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great meal, awesome nacho chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Friendly staff. Good food served quickly. The fresh nacho chips were outstanding and definitely worth the calories. Overall good food value for Auckland. The food is not particularly spicy so if you really like some heat in your Mexican food be sure to ask for it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank enenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Mexico Cantina & tequila Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Little Mexico Cantina & tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing