We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night out!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Brick - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Brick
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: Red Brick is an old Listed Brick Building beginning its life as a Coffee House. We have three separate trading areas our Conservatory Bar, Heated Courtyard and Cosy Restaurant. In the bar we operate a cafe Monday to Friday 7am - 3pm. We then convert the cafe to a welcoming wine bar Monday - Saturday with a large selection of New Zealand Wines, tasty tapas and great views over Fraser park and the Sky Tower. The Restaurant serves food 12 - 3 and 5.30pm - 9.30pm Monday to Friday and from 5pm on Saturdays. In the Courtyard you can relax with the Tapas menu or our Restaurant Menu - you choose.Red Brick is proudly family owned and operated, we have spent much of our hospitality careers in England and France and love to welcome Parnell Locals and visitors from further a fieldWe look forward to welcoming you at Red Brick soon
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great night out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We used the Grabone coupon we picked up via the internet. Well what a great decision - spending a night out with friends at a fabulous restaurant which provided great food and service. We all had different mains and no one could fault the presentation & food. The service was attentive and we couldn't help but try the desserts which definitely lived up to the same standard as the mains. The restaurant isn't suitable for large groups but great for tables for two and up to six people. Ask for a table next to the window as you get a good view of the skytower. Toilets were very nice & clean. We will be back again. Thanks for a great night!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“The verse "Jesus wept" was written about the food here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

From the entree of chicken livers with bacon and mushrooms to my Roasted leg of duck and my wife Fish of the day (snapper) I have never had food so good.
Thank you Red Brick for an amazing meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice little place in Parnell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

The staff was pleasant. The vegetarian risotto was excellent, the beef fillet was a bit tough and not very flavorful.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Very nice restaurant with relaxed and quiet atmosphere and delicious food. Will definitely return.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank thejourneyists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
176 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wow, what a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

This is a superb restaurant, with a simple yet innovative menu and excellent wait staff. Try the Lobster Bisque, it is to die for!
A little hard to find, as it is a side road at the top of Parnell Rise. Ample off street parking and a friendly welcome and a slick and fast a service as I have ever seen. Most NZ restaurants are charging a surcharge for a Holiday Weekend, but not here.
Thoroughly recommended!
Kotuku123

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kotuku123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlaswan, Owner at Red Brick, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
HI
Thanks for taking the time out to review us. The team at Red Brick are thrilled you had a great experience, hope to see you again soon and as you mentioned we never charge a surcharge
Happy Easter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Brick also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing