We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“North Island Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waitakere Tours - Day Tours - CLOSED

Waitakere Tours - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small group, personal, active day tours. Waitakere Ranges has been our family home for over a hundred years. Share with us the wild bush, wild black sand beaches, real kiwi kai(food) with real locals and get a sense of the history and culture which has help shape this beautiful place to what it is today.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hereford, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“North Island Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A most see in New Zealand is the North Island. From Aukland, the most convenient local is the Wiattakere region. If you want to see it in a small group from someone who is a four generation resident then you should check out Waitaker Tours. Visit places that big tour buses never adventure to or even heard of. As important, is Shane- the guide- knowledge of the region: its history, its plants, its birds, animals, geology etc etc. Also to be mention is the lunch provided. Home made everything. Tour includes pick and drop off from where you are staying. We went in mid January. Best adventure of our 29 day trip to the region.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Mountain, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Best way to spend a day in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We took a day tour with Shane in early December while cruising New Zealand and his tour was such a better alternative than anything the cruise line was offering. I am so glad we booked this! Shane is a great guy, so knowledgeable and passionate about what he is showing you, and it's like spending the day with a new friend. We were so impressed with the day we spent in the rainforest, on the black sand dunes and through the "kiwi foot spa" (best part of the whole day!), at impressive Piha beach, and with the awesome lunch his lovely wife prepared for us (I still need to get those recipes for the bacon and egg pie and the cabbage salad!). Shane is such a credit to his profession, and really just a great "people person", and very client-centric. There wasn't a single thing he didn't think of regarding his guests. I wish we had had more time to spend in this lovely part of New Zealand but the time we had was well spent. If you are looking for something different, personal, and inspiring, then please let Shane show you Auckland.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Jodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
321 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Perfect day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This tour was brilliant! Walking barefoot through the stream and to the sand dunes was out of this world! So unique. Walking through the Waitakere region was so interesting, Shane points out information about the different plants and trees in the area. He has a passion about this region and it shows. We had a group of 4 so it was quite intimate. Lunch was delicious, we also had lots of snacks in between. We saw so much in our tour! You have the opportunity to swim at the beach or at the waterfalls. We didn't, the water was too cold for us, but there is plenty to do instead of going into the water!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
“A full day of fun and appreciation of the nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We enjoyed our full day tour guided by Shane. Shane is very knowledgeable about the flora of the Waitakere region and the Maori people. It's very satisfying to learn so much more from a tour; without Shane's sharing, touring Waitakere would have been a blur.

Besides being knowledgeable, Shane is also super nice and has very pleasant personality. We feel like being guided by a knowledgeable friend. Shane's wife, Ana, was also very attentive to our needs, upon booking, she asks if we have special dietary needs. I'm on gluten-free diet, Ana prepares a delicious GF lunch for me, and for snack for everyone, the GF walnut cake is yummy, everyone loves it.

Shane goes extra miles literally - hearing that we want to check out Mission Bay, he drops us there even though it means extra miles for him.

We highly recommend Shane's Waitakere Tour.

Sailan & Robert

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelDiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“A tour not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had a wonderful day with Shane. It was cloudy and a bit rainy, but that didn't dampen his enthusiasm. He's a local guide who has a great love for the area and it comes through in his tours. I appreciated his in depth knowledge of the flora and fauna of the area. I liked being able to walk around three very different locations, the rainforest, the beach and the very surprising black sand dunes. I would never had such a great experience on my own. It was the highlight of my trip to New Zealand.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waitakere Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Pukenui, Northland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing