We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavoursome food”

La Bocca Italian Restaurant
Ranked #891 of 2,329 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Email: labocca@gmail.com
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flavoursome food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our recent , unplanned visit to this small, atmospheric eatery resulted in a most pleasing lunch at reasonable prices. The owner was hospitable and accepted our requests without concern.......my wife does not eat dressings or fancy sauces of any kind. We got exactly what we ordered and it was all done with a smile and pleasant conversation. I had a dish of chicken livers and my wife grilled calamari. Both dishes were a 'sensible' size serving and thoughtfully presented. Shame it was the last day of our stay in Auckland as I would happily return to try the dinner menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussie154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good italian place for Parnell lunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went there with a work team. The owner/manager is a very friendly talkative guy, makes you feel very welcome and keeps you entertained. Great value lunch menu. Also had a bottle of good Italian wine. I had a chicken salad and it was good. Some of us had sandwiches and pastas and all looked yummy. Will recommend as a good lunch place in Parnell.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anastasia_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Flavourless”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Obviously Management wasnt present last night
The waitperson was perfunctory , and nothing more, was just really going thru the motions
The food although well presented was absolutely tasteless
Bruschetta was ample amount of tomato and garlic , very minute specks of basil but served on bread that had not been toasted so rather soggy
The main was a real disappointment ... Chicken Breast... was really a slice of chicken schnitzel minute in size, atop some vegetables, some pasta parcels and covered in a cream, sauce
As advised well presented , but nothing had any flavour except the piece of red pepper
The pasta parcels were tasteless and added nothing to an overall bland meal
Sorry wouldnt return as $33 for that was not on , far from memorable
I would have thought they would need to lift their game to get a portion of the action , as obviously Dining in Parnell is struggling
A lot better other Italian Restaurants in Auckland

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johntoddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ex-UK now of Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have lived in Auckland for ten years and this was our first visit to this restaurant and we are now asking ourselves - why??? The venue is small and intimate. The menu was good and reasonably priced, with a number of pasta dishes tro chose from as well as more conventional food.The owner/waiter, Nenad, is a charming man, happy to spend a few minutes chatting but not to the detriment of his other guests. We had belly pork and can say that it was the best one we have had. The pork was tender and the crackling sweet and not too hard so that you risk breaking your teeth on it! The house red wine was comparable with wine costing far more. All in all we had a very pleasant Friday evening dinner and certainly will be back again. Try it - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Discerningguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A new years eve dinner”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Fun restaurant with personal staff and good food. Pasta v tasty. Toilets a bit of a mission to get to. Worth a visit.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bocca Italian Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to La Bocca Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing