We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza”

Sal's Authentic New York Pizza
Ranked #120 of 2,232 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We've had the good fortune of being made privy to a legendary pizzamaker's secret family recipe and have spent years perfecting Salvatore Leo's well guarded pizza making techniques. We are proud to serve you AUTHENTIC New York Pizza...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Well was a real shock to find great pizza and a beer in such a small place but works well and girls helpful well done guys could learn fr that

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blowit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    106
    50
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarras, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not sure why they have 4 1/2”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Awful pizzas, they just taste like salt. No thought at all gone into them they're just basic pizza a kid could come up with. Soggy base, won't be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“awesome pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

really really good pizza. what else can I say? if you want american NY style pizza this is the place to go for really good tasting food. The price is on the high side but it's really worth it (not so much for the calories). I am really happy to have found Sals pizza here in Auckland

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kirinlager007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The garlic knots are yummy and inexpensive and vary garlicy, the pepperoni rolls are even nicer and well worth the price for 2 and are a must when ordering. The pizzas are huge, crispy base, 1-2 toppings max, 5 different pizza flavours (sausage, meatball, pepperoni, chicken, vego) circa $30 for the standard huge size. 2 of us (guys) can munch the whole thing, then a couple of extra pieces - nice that you can buy by the piece circa $5. Great that we can get pitchers of beer for $20, always good to wash it all down with. I've spent $110 in the last week: dinner for 2, then dinner for 4. The North Shore branch (Takapuna) is great too. kinda expensive for pizza in NZ, but on par with gourmet New York standard.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterawiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for an experience, but not necessarily a meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I've been to New York, and eaten pizza there, and this place is pretty authentic. I took my wife there, as she was interested in seeing what New York pizza was like. We both had fun eating something that was so different to the pizza we were used to.

Having said that, we struggled to eat more than two slices of the pizza each, as the pizza was huge, and had a lot of cheese. It was authentic, but neither of us felt very good after eating it. There are other places in Auckland where you can get lovely fresh food, so only go to Sal's for a one-night experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank westgirl_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Authentic New York Pizza also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 

Been to Sal's Authentic New York Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing