We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service”
Review of Jaan Turkish Cafe

Jaan Turkish Cafe
Ranked #883 of 2,259 Restaurants in Auckland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We called in late, after watching the Clannad concert so we were buzzing, but ready to eat something. The staff were busy but very helpful and the menu was really quite wide ranging. Both our meat meals and salad were just awesome and we had a great position watching the night sky over the city.
its not just the meals with me, I get about all over the world and eat out a lot...here it was the service. You can sometimes expect a grumpy waiting service later at night as people get tired out But this was excellent really and from me just a super experience for us to finish off a great night

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticConnexionsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really Delicious Food and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went here to try it out as we had an entertainment voucher. This restaurant is licensed as well as BYO. It offers tasting platters, mains and pizzas. We had the vegetarian Mezze Platter and it was delicious. We share the lamb and chicken mixed skewers and they were also so tasty. The service was fast and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a Wednesday night quite early around 6:30pm however there were several diners there at the time and their meals also looked great. The dips were very tasty as was the couple of salads serviced with both the entree and main.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tastless Tagine”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Four of us were in Kingsland looking for a hot and tasty meal before the rugby since we didn't want hot chips and burgers at the game, so we decided to try this place - I reeeeeeeeally wanted to like it, but we left wishing we hadn't even tried. So disappointed.
When you see the word 'tagine' on a menu what do you think of? A slow cooked meat dish, in a cone shaped clay pot, packed with carrots and capsicum and aromatic flavors of cumin, cinnamon, garlic, lemon, coriander and turmeric color? Yep, well that's what we thought, and anything slightly less would have sufficed. However, the tagines that came to our table (three of us ordered it!) was appalling and the most furtherest thing from a tagine I could imagine. The best way I can describe their tagine was a bowl of oily, bland, tomato soup with a few chunks of lamb and loads of stringy, overcooked okra. I'm not exaggerating. There was no flavor apart from tomato and oil and the 'seasonal vegetables' on the menu was just okra! The three of us were not willing to pay nearly $30 for each tagine that was far below average so we asked to send them back and didn't want to order anything else. The fourth person at our table ordered the stuffed aubergine which was late arriving. It was slightly better in taste, but she wasn't pleased that the aubergine was so mushy and the mince stuffing was very oily.
The service was okay and the breads we started with were lovely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Appalling”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I have never had such an appalling experience in my life. The waiters were rude, there was hair in our food and the service was shocking. We waited nearly 2 hours for our food after waiting an hour to have our orders taken. There were 4 staff members all apparently looking after our table but they obviously didn’t communicate as they didn’t know if/what we’d ordered at all. The food was bland and not worth paying for. We saw cockroaches in the toilets and one even running accross the restaurant floor. We went to leave and got chased, claiming we hadn’t paid our bill which we went back to prove we had and the girl promptly made one up on the spot and said we hadn’t. We were treated like crap to say the least and I will never ever be going back there. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great Yum Char in Auckland”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very good quality Yum Char in Auckland. Not cheap but worth it!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank chan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaan Turkish Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Jaan Turkish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing