We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and very comfortable with cheap internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on here. We weren't disappointed. Car park was an extra $15 dollars a night - I think the internet rate was only $20 for 5 days (2 GB limit I recall?). Room on the 14th floor was very comfortable, great sofas, big balcony, lots of space. Couple of niggles like a lightbulb out in the lamp and we had to move the sofas to find something and noticed they had not vacuumed under there for a while... It cost around $160 for a 2-bed apartment. Would definitely recommend. Remember no toiletries like shampoo are provided so bring your own. The weekly rates seem very reasonable for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank flyboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celestion, Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2010

All our hotel apartments include high quality toiletries like shampoo and soap. They are provided by two quality dispenser units which are located in the bathroom!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,320 - 1,326 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2010

This fantastic apartment has everything you could want- great location, view, balcony, comfortable bed, huge couch, separate guest room/office, and ample kitchen. I loved curling up on the extremely comfortable couch with the provided warm blanket-almost felt like home. Coffee shop (2!) just a quick walk up the hill. Shopping and restaurants in very close proximity. Washer dryer available at adjoining building. Reasonably priced wired internet. With a reasonable price for an incredible room like this, (NZ $100) why would you stay in a hotel?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank lynease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We had to cut our Christchurch holiday short as a result of the earthquake and move on the way back to Australia via Auckland. We arrived very late and were very happy with the modern,spacious, fully equipped 2 bedroom apartment with good kitchen,good laundry on the 2nd floor,good high speed internet that have accommodate all 5 of us. Great location, great value.,great quality .We had a great stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank batir0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We spent 3 nights at this hotel- as others have commented, it is brand new, with easy access to everything you want in downtown Auckland and spacious rooms. I thought it was a good deal at $120 NZD/night. We chose this hotel based on other reviews, because we would NEVER go back to where we stayed before (Quadrant), it's location in town and because we liked the idea of having the option to self-cater. We travel to Auckland frequently for work and family visits, so we were glad to find a new place to base ourselves while in town.

We were in a very clean room with modern, minimalist furnishings. We had a king size bed in the bedroom, a nice lounge with comfy couch and small dining table. The kitchen had a 2 burner stove, dishwasher, decent fridge/freezer and a dual convection/microwave oven. Everything was brand new and of a good quality (from bedding to appliances). Our room also had a seperate office with a futon bed. It was a 5 minute walk to a large grocery store, and was near a variety of restaurants, from takeaways for indian and asian, to nicer restaurants and some great pubs. It was about a 10-15 minute walk to the Viaduct area from the hotel.

A few minor issues: We ran out of hot water on our last morning- that coupled with the very weak low-flow (and very low mounted) showerhead made showering annoying. Also, the room did not include an info book on the hotel- the phone had a bunch of indistinguishable buttons on it, so we had to go downstairs in order to ask any questions at the front desk (like how do we dial an outside line!?). The check-out time of 10am seemed unfairly early, and to extend the time they ding you $10 NZD/hour to stay later.

Overall, I think the hotel more than fit our needs. Free internet would have been nice, but Auckland hasn't figured out that this is an amenity they shouldn't be charging for yet. We had friends around for lunch and dinner one night and were more than able to make a nice meal for them. Good location, brand new facility, we will definitely stay at this (ridiculously named) hotel on our next trip to Auckland.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank CtotheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

we arrived at night and stayed in Celestion Waldorf for 2 nights. aS WE WERE LOOKING FOR ACCOMMODATION FOR LONG TERM COMING BACK FROM THE UK we found to our surprise that we can move to a weekly rate on one of the hotel lower levels.this was a great solution as the weekly rate was much cheaper than the daily rate and we still have the option not to renew the weekly arrangement at any time without penalty.This flexible arrangement is great for couple in our situation!. The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed with our newly borne child was clean,modern and fully equipped with good facilities in the hotel and the area (INCLUDING 24 HOURS SUPERMARKET).
Great place to stay.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
15  Thank farmers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

we stayed for few weeks in Waldorf Celestion apartment hotel furnished accommodation. Very good location in the central city location, near the railway station, water front area, large 24/7 supermarket,Queen Street, our business school.The complex is of high qulaity accommodation at very reasonable weekly rate which included electricity and internet service free of charge.Modern, quality 2 bedroom apartment with good kitchen as well as aircom & heating. Nice balcony with good view for smoking.Well managed complex with good laundry facilities. we were very happy with our accommodation

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank 186565Vlademir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I have stayed for 4 weeks in Waldorf Celestion Apartments Hotel as I have moved to Auckland to take a new job. This was a very suitable arrangement as I could not get 4 weeks rental from local real estate agents and my 1 bedroom fully furnished apartment in Celestions gave me the time to arrange my affairs in Auckland. Very modern and secured complex, with spacious apartment fully furnished and equipped including high speed internet.Good size kitchen & on site laundry very modern and upmarket decor. Our rate was very reasonable taking into consideration the quality and location of the complex.. Great central Auckland location near a 24 hours a day supermarlet,railway staion and Quuen street area.Highly recommended for quality,secured extended stay or businss relocation in Auckland City.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank vogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,692 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
995 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $106 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing