We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient & hassle free”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted with friendly helpful staff at reception.We assume they are redecorating because the hallways were just bare concrete. Once inside our 2bedroom appartment we were pleasantly surprised how spacious and modern it was with every thing needed for our 3 night stay. The 8th floor gave us agood veiw overlooking the main roads with a limited veiw of the harbour. Advice on local attractions wasn't a problem to any of the desk staff and if they didn't know they would look it up. By booking taxis through the desk we got really good deals an example being $35 for a cash ride to the airport.(it cost us $32 on the bus!) We would not hesitate to stop at this centrally located hotel again. Vector Arena is just 5mins. walk down the road with downtown Auckland the same in the other direction and numerous cafe's and restaurants in between. They could do to have a few more Sky TV channels but I guess the number available is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff & I have passed your review on.
Waldorf Celestion is a unique building with an in-vogue ‘industrial’ feel that does not appeal to all. I can only agree that our location is hard to beat & very handy to shops, cafes, supermarkets, etc.We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

Upon arrival to leaving the attitude of the front desk staff was extremely poor, other staff wandering around were freindly. We felt like we were an inconvenience to them and anything that was asked for was to much trouble or wasn't done. They seemed confused as to what they could or couldn't do.The rooms and hallways are dark and dingy and the finish was like the designer was on some mind altering drugs not caring about what clients would need, going for a theme not usefull.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I have passed on your feedback to staff as it helps to make us better. We now have the opportunity to implement changes to hallways & I would welcome the opportunity to create a better experience the next time you are in Auckland. I would like to personally follow up on your experience & ask that you contact me celestiongm@waldorf.co.nz.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The apartment was nice, clean, nice decor, good lay out. The kitchen was well equipped. It's location is good, close to shops and the Harbour. The staff is super friendly and helpful. But we must have been given the worst apartment in the building. Our bedroom was right next to the exhaust fan of an Indian restaurant. It was smelly and noisy. Around 11pm it would go on full blast and it was worse than sleeping in an airplane. Our "view" was the rubbish room in a small court yard.
We lost our key card. The manager charged us $50 (!!!!). This was stated on the little folder we received at check in. But, in my point of view, this is totally disproportional! We googled the price of key cards and they actually cost between $0,20-$0,50. Most hotels don't charge anything in case you lose one. Would stay here again, but glue my key card in my bag and ask for a room on one of the higher floors.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaK22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Celestion. We will always respond very quickly to a 'guest request' whether it is to move rooms or be upgraded so please do not hesitate to let us know. Once again, I thank you for your comments, you have noted that our guest rooms were clean and I will make sure that these comments reach our housekeeping staff, who work hard every day to ensure a positive guest experience.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights - when we found the apartment block, we thought we'd made a terrible mistake - the reception looks dark and gloomy, like the entrance to a hostel, with bare concrete corridors and walls. Once we reached out apartment, we were relieved to find a quite reasonable apartment - big rooms, well-equipped kitchenette, which was more than enough for our stay. The location was brilliant, close to the main centre of Auckland, everything within walking distance.

Only one quibble - the carpet was very dirty (white socks turned black very quickly) and when we requested a cleaner, or even a hoover, nothing was done (although we did stay over the New Year period...)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. Waldorf Celestion is a unique building with an in-vogue ‘industrial’ feel that does not appeal to everyone! The foyer has undergone cosmetic changes with new lighting and floral arrangements as well as latest weather information and information on local attractions within close proximity to Celestion. Balconies are currently all undergoing a sealant which will stop the black coming off the rubber used on the balconies & being walked in on peoples shoes & feet.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights before our 4 week tour of NZ. Just 2 of of us but the apartment had 2 bedrooms, a utility room and large kitchen, diner, sitting room. Very central yet very quiet, handy also for our rental car pick up in beach street . Used the Indian restaurant also and was was also good food.

Room Tip: Ask for one at back, as a bit quieter, however was very quiet when we there. Go for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments on our proximity to different areas & agree that the Tower you stayed in is very quiet & peaceful. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent our first night in New Zeland here after a long overnight flight. The staff was amazing, from the front desk to the Priscilla, the head of houskeeping. Every request was addressed immediately. The rooms are quiet, centrally located (near the backpacker area...not fancy, but a decent neighborhood) and comfortable. Great value for the quality and location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meltraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking time out to write such a great review about your experience at Waldorf Celestion. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours which I have passed onto Priscilla.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

After a very long flight we arrived early in the morning. The very friendly lady at the front desk went out of her way to get our room ready for us before check inn time as we were so tired. When i realised i left my new tablet on the plane the frontdesk lady phoned the airline for us and arranged a fixed rate taxi for us to the airport to get my tablet back, sooo extremely friendly i am eternally grateful. About the apartment everything was perfect as well, very spacious, 2 bedrooms even, full kitchen with dishwasher etc, very clean and quiet. Location is a small stroll to queen street and there is a huge supermarket nearby. The indian restaurant downstairs also has very good food to di e i or take away. Yes, we found this place to be a gem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eden966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Waldorf Celestion. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
755 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $113 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing